FYE African American
TitleLife in Motion
AuthorCopeland, Misty
Sub-ImprintTouchstone
FormatPaperback
Category 1Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781476737997
US Price$15.99
CDN Price$18.99
Pages304
Title StatusAS
Determination meets dance in this memoir by the history-making ballerina.
TitleThe Black Male Handbook
AuthorPowell, Kevin
Sub-ImprintAtria Books
FormatPaperback
Category 1Self-Help
ISBN-139781416592242
US Price$16
CDN Price$18.99
Pages272
Title StatusAS
Author and activist Kevin Powell and contributors Lasana Omar Hotep, Jeff Johnson, Byron Hurt, Dr. William Jelani Cobb, Ryan Mack, Kendrick B. Nathaniel, and Dr. Andre L. Brown tap into the social and political climate rising in the African American community with this collection of essays for Black males on surviving, living, and winning.
TitleThe House at Sugar Beach
AuthorCooper, Helene
Sub-ImprintSimon & Schuster
FormatPaperback
Category 1Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139780743266253
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages384
Title StatusAS
Journalist Helene Cooper examines the violent past of her home country Liberia and the effects of its 1980 military coup in this deeply personal memoir and finalist for the 2008 National Book Critics Circle Award.
TitleThe King Years
AuthorBranch, Taylor
Sub-ImprintSimon & Schuster
FormatPaperback
Category 1History
ISBN-139781451662467
US Price$16
CDN Price$18.99
Pages224
Title StatusAS
The essential moments of the Civil Rights Movement are set in historical context by the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of the magisterial America in the King Years trilogy—Parting the Waters; Pillar of Fire; and At Canaan’s Edge.
TitleMiddle Passage
AuthorJohnson, Charles
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category 1Fiction
ISBN-139780684855882
US Price$16
CDN Price$22
Pages224
Title StatusAS
A twenty-fifth anniversary edition of Charles Johnson’s National Book Award-winning masterpiece—"a novel in the tradition of Billy Budd and Moby-Dick…heroic in proportion…fiction that hooks the mind" (The New York Times Book Review)—now with a new introduction from Stanley Crouch.
TitleThe Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace
AuthorHobbs, Jeff
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category 1Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781476731919
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages432
Title StatusAS
An instant New York Times bestseller, named a best book of the year by The New York Times Book Review, Amazon, and Entertainment Weekly, among others, this celebrated account of a young African-American man who escaped Newark, NJ, to attend Yale, but still faced the dangers of the streets when he returned is, “nuanced and shattering” (People) and “mesmeric” (The New York Times Book Review).
TitleTwelve Years a Slave
AuthorNorthup, Solomon
Sub-Imprint37 INK
FormatHardcover
Category 1History
ISBN-139781476767345
US Price$15
CDN Price$17
Pages320
Title StatusAS
The story that inspired the major motion picture, with an introduction by the bestselling author of Wench, Dolen Perkins-Valdez, Twelve Years a Slave is a harrowing, vividly detailed, and utterly unforgettable account of slavery.
TitleWalking with the Wind
AuthorLewis, John
Sub-ImprintSimon & Schuster
FormatPaperback
Category 1Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781476797717
US Price$18
CDN Price$25
Pages544
Title StatusAS
The award-winning national bestseller, Walking with the Wind, is one of our most important records of the American civil rights movement. Told by John Lewis, who Cornel West calls a “national treasure,” this is a gripping first-hand account of the fight for civil rights and the courage it takes to change a nation.
TitleWarriors Don't Cry
AuthorBeals, Melba Pattillo
Sub-ImprintWashington Square Press
FormatPaperback
Category 1Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139780671866396
US Price$16.99
CDN Price$22.99
Pages336
Title StatusAS
In 1957, well before Martin Luther King’s "I Have a Dream" speech, Melba Pattillo Beals and eight other teenagers became iconic symbols for the Civil Rights Movement and the dismantling of Jim Crow in the American South as they integrated Little Rock’s Central High School in the wake of the landmark 1954 Supreme Court ruling, Brown v. Board of Education.
TitleWhere a Man Stands
AuthorPaysinger, Carter
Sub-ImprintHoward Books
FormatPaperback
Category 1Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781476711423
US Price$15
CDN Price$20
Pages312
Title StatusAS
When Beverly Hills High School welcomed a skinny boy from the other side of the tracks, no one knew just how life-changing the decision would be, not just for Carter Paysinger but for all of Beverly Hills.