FYE 20-21
TitleWhat Set Me Free (The Story That Inspired the Major Motion Picture Brian Banks)
AuthorBanks, Brian
ImprintAtria
FormatPaperback
EditorBorland, Peter K.
ISBN-139781982121310
On Sale07/02/19
US Price$16.99
CDN Price$22.99
Pages320
*The story that inspired the film Brian Banks*

Discover the unforgettable and inspiring true story of a young man who was wrongfully convicted as a teenager and imprisoned for more than five years, only to emerge with his spirit unbroken and determined to achieve his dream of playing in the NFL.
TitleOlympic Pride, American Prejudice
AuthorDraper, Deborah R
ImprintAtria
FormatHardcover
EditorJohns, Chelcee
ISBN-139781501162152
On Sale02/04/20
US Price$28
CDN Price$37
Pages400
Discover the astonishing, inspirational, and largely unknown true story of the eighteen African American athletes who competed in the 1936 Berlin Olympic Games, defying the racism of both Nazi Germany and the Jim Crow South.
TitleThe Blood of Emmett Till
AuthorTyson, Timothy B
ImprintSimon & Schuster
FormatPaperback
EditorPainton, Priscilla
ISBN-139781476714851
On Sale12/05/17
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages304
* Longlisted for the National Book Award * Winner of the Robert F. Kennedy Book Award * A New York Times Notable Book * A Washington Post Notable Book * An NPR Best Book of 2017 * A Los Angeles Times Best Book of 2017 * An Atlanta Journal-Constitution Best Southern Book of 2017 *

This extraordinary New York Times bestseller reexamines a pivotal event of the civil rights movement—the 1955 lynching of Emmett Till—“and demands that we do the one vital thing we aren’t often enough asked to do with history: learn from it” (The Atlantic).
TitleEveryday People
Author
ImprintAtria
FormatPaperback
EditorIglesias Perez, Melanie
ISBN-139781501134944
On Sale08/28/18
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages336
“A delight and highly recommended.” —Booklist

“Showcases the truth and fullness of people of color.” —Book Riot

In the tradition of Best American Short Stories comes Everyday People: The Color of Life, a dazzling collection of contemporary short fiction.
TitleThe Fire This Time
AuthorWard, Jesmyn
ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
EditorBelden, Kathryn
ISBN-139781501126352
On Sale06/20/17
US Price$16
CDN Price$22
Pages240
The New York Times bestseller, these groundbreaking essays and poems about race—collected by National Book Award winner Jesmyn Ward and written by the most important voices of her generation—are “thoughtful, searing, and at times, hopeful. The Fire This Time is vivid proof that words are important, because of their power to both cleanse and to clarify” (USA TODAY).
TitleHeads of the Colored People
AuthorThompson-Spires, Nafissa
ImprintSimon & Schuster
FormatPaperback
EditorDavis, Dawn
ISBN-139781501168000
On Sale01/22/19
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages224
*Winner of the PEN Open Book Award*
*Winner of the Whiting Award*
*Longlisted for the 2018 National Book Award and Aspen Words Literary Prize*
*Nominated for the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize*
*Finalist for the Kirkus Prize and Los Angeles Times Book Prize*

Included in Best Books of 2018 Lists from Refinery29, NPR, The Root, HuffPost, Vanity Fair, Bustle, Chicago Tribune, PopSugar, and The Undefeated.

In one of the season’s most acclaimed works of fiction—longlisted for the National Book Award and winner of the PEN Open Book Award—Nafissa Thompson-Spires offers “a firecracker of a book...a triumph of storytelling: intelligent, acerbic, and ingenious” (Financial Times).
TitleMiddle Passage
AuthorJohnson, Charles
ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
EditorDavis, Cherise
ISBN-139780684855882
On Sale07/01/98
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages224
A twenty-fifth anniversary edition of Charles Johnson’s National Book Award-winning masterpiece—"a novel in the tradition of Billy Budd and Moby-Dick…heroic in proportion…fiction that hooks the mind" (The New York Times Book Review)—now with a new introduction from Stanley Crouch.
TitleNever Caught
AuthorDunbar, Erica Armstrong
ImprintSimon & Schuster
FormatPaperback
EditorDavis, Dawn
ISBN-139781501126413
On Sale01/09/18
US Price$16.99
CDN Price$22.99
Pages288
A startling and eye-opening look into America’s First Family, Never Caught is the powerful story about a daring woman of “extraordinary grit” (The Philadelphia Inquirer).
TitleRace Against Time
AuthorMitchell, Jerry
ImprintSimon & Schuster
FormatHardcover
EditorManning, Sean
ISBN-139781451645132
On Sale02/04/20
US Price$28
CDN Price$37
Pages432
“For almost two decades, investigative journalist Jerry Mitchell doggedly pursued the Klansmen responsible for some of the most notorious murders of the civil rights movement. This book is his amazing story. Thanks to him, and to courageous prosecutors, witnesses, and FBI agents, justice finally prevailed.” —John Grisham, author of The Guardians
TitleThe Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace
AuthorHobbs, Jeff
ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
EditorHarrison, Colin
ISBN-139781476731919
On Sale07/28/15
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages432
An instant New York Times bestseller, named a best book of the year by The New York Times Book Review, Amazon, and Entertainment Weekly, among others, this celebrated account of a young African-American man who escaped Newark, NJ, to attend Yale, but still faced the dangers of the streets when he returned is, “nuanced and shattering” (People) and “mesmeric” (The New York Times Book Review).