FYE Black Voices
TitleSurvival Math
AuthorJackson, Mitchell S.
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
Category Full 2SOCIAL SCIENCE / Minority Studies
Category Full 3SOCIAL SCIENCE / Discrimination
ISBN-139781501131738
On Sale02/04/20
Title StatusAS
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages336
Cover StatusFinal
“A vibrant memoir of race, violence, family, and manhood…a virtuosic wail of a book” (The Boston Globe), Survival Math calculates how award-winning author Mitchell S. Jackson survived the Portland, Oregon, of his youth.
TitleThe Black Kids
AuthorHammonds Reed, Christina
Sub-ImprintS&S Books for Young Readers
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age
Category Full 2YOUNG ADULT FICTION / People & Places/United States/African American & Black
Category Full 3YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Historical/United States/20th Century
ISBN-139781534462724
On Sale08/04/20
Title StatusBSB
US Price$18.99
CDN Price$24.99
Pages368
Cover StatusFinal
A New York Times bestseller
A William C. Morris Award Finalist

“Should be required reading in every classroom.” —Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin
“A true love letter to Los Angeles.” —Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion
“A brilliantly poetic take on one of the most defining moments in Black American history.” —Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Grown and Monday’s Not Coming


Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.
TitleBlack Magic
AuthorSanders, Chad
Sub-ImprintSimon & Schuster
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
Category Full 2BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Cultural, Ethnic & Regional/African American & Black
Category Full 3HISTORY / United States/21st Century
ISBN-139781982104221
On Sale02/02/21
Title StatusAS
US Price$27
CDN Price$36
Pages288
Cover StatusFinal
A powerful exploration of Black achievement in a white world based on honest, provocative, and moving interviews with Black leaders, scientists, artists, activists, and champions.
TitleThe Blood of Emmett Till
AuthorTyson, Timothy B
Sub-ImprintSimon & Schuster
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1SOCIAL SCIENCE / Discrimination
Category Full 2HISTORY / United States/20th Century
Category Full 3SOCIAL SCIENCE / Ethnic Studies/American/African American & Black Studies
ISBN-139781476714851
On Sale12/05/17
Title StatusAS
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages304
Cover StatusFinal
* Longlisted for the National Book Award * Winner of the Robert F. Kennedy Book Award * A New York Times Notable Book * A Washington Post Notable Book * An NPR Best Book of 2017 * A Los Angeles Times Best Book of 2017 * An Atlanta Journal-Constitution Best Southern Book of 2017 *

This extraordinary New York Times bestseller reexamines a pivotal event of the civil rights movement—the 1955 lynching of Emmett Till—“and demands that we do the one vital thing we aren’t often enough asked to do with history: learn from it” (The Atlantic).
TitleEveryday People
Author
Sub-ImprintAtria Books
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1FICTION / Anthologies
Category Full 2FICTION / Literary
Category Full 3FICTION / Urban & Street Lit
ISBN-139781501134944
On Sale08/28/18
Title StatusAS
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages336
Cover StatusFinal
“A delight and highly recommended.” —Booklist

“Showcases the truth and fullness of people of color.” —Book Riot

In the tradition of Best American Short Stories comes Everyday People: The Color of Life, a dazzling collection of contemporary short fiction.
TitleThe Fire This Time
AuthorWard, Jesmyn
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1SOCIAL SCIENCE / Ethnic Studies/American/African American & Black Studies
Category Full 2SOCIAL SCIENCE / Discrimination
Category Full 3HISTORY / African American & Black
ISBN-139781501126352
On Sale06/20/17
Title StatusAS
US Price$16
CDN Price$22
Pages240
Cover StatusFinal
The New York Times bestseller, these groundbreaking essays and poems about race—collected by National Book Award winner Jesmyn Ward and written by the most important voices of her generation—are “thoughtful, searing, and at times, hopeful. The Fire This Time is vivid proof that words are important, because of their power to both cleanse and to clarify” (USA TODAY).
TitleHeads of the Colored People
AuthorThompson-Spires, Nafissa
Sub-Imprint37 INK
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1FICTION / Short Stories
Category Full 2FICTION / African American & Black/General
Category Full 3FICTION / Literary
ISBN-139781501168000
On Sale01/22/19
Title StatusAS
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages224
Cover StatusFinal
*Winner of the PEN Open Book Award*
*Winner of the Whiting Award*
*Longlisted for the 2018 National Book Award and Aspen Words Literary Prize*
*Nominated for the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize*
*Finalist for the Kirkus Prize and Los Angeles Times Book Prize*

Included in Best Books of 2018 Lists from Refinery29, NPR, The Root, HuffPost, Vanity Fair, Bustle, Chicago Tribune, PopSugar, and The Undefeated.

In one of the season’s most acclaimed works of fiction—longlisted for the National Book Award and winner of the PEN Open Book Award—Nafissa Thompson-Spires offers “a firecracker of a book...a triumph of storytelling: intelligent, acerbic, and ingenious” (Financial Times).
TitleHow to Slowly Kill Yourself and Others in America
AuthorLaymon, Kiese
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1SOCIAL SCIENCE / Essays
Category Full 2SOCIAL SCIENCE / Media Studies
Category Full 3SOCIAL SCIENCE / Ethnic Studies/American/African American & Black Studies
ISBN-139781982170820
On Sale11/10/20
Title StatusAS
US Price$16
CDN Price$22
Pages176
Cover StatusFinal
A revised collection with thirteen essays, including six new to this edition and seven from the original edition, by the “star in the American literary firmament, with a voice that is courageous, honest, loving, and singularly beautiful” (NPR).
TitleIda B. the Queen
AuthorDuster, Michelle
Sub-ImprintAtria/One Signal Publishers
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Historical
Category Full 2HISTORY / African American & Black
Category Full 3HISTORY / United States/19th Century
ISBN-139781982129811
On Sale01/26/21
Title StatusAS
US Price$27
CDN Price$36
Pages176
Cover StatusFinal
Journalist. Suffragist. Antilynching crusader. In 1862, Ida B. Wells was born enslaved in Holly Springs, Mississippi. In 2020, she won a Pulitzer Prize.
TitleMiddle Passage
AuthorJohnson, Charles
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1FICTION / African American & Black/General
Category Full 2FICTION / African American & Black/Historical
Category Full 3FICTION / Classics
ISBN-139780684855882
On Sale07/01/98
Title StatusAS
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages224
Cover StatusFinal
A twenty-fifth anniversary edition of Charles Johnson’s National Book Award-winning masterpiece—"a novel in the tradition of Billy Budd and Moby-Dick…heroic in proportion…fiction that hooks the mind" (The New York Times Book Review)—now with a new introduction from Stanley Crouch.