AL Pages in Black
TitleBlack Ghost of Empire
AuthorManjapra, Kris
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1HISTORY / African American & Black
Category Full 2HISTORY / Europe/Great Britain/General
Category Full 3HISTORY / United States/General
ISBN-139781982123475
On Sale04/19/22
Title StatusAS
US Price$26.99
CDN Price$35.99
Pages256
Cover StatusFinal
If the 1619 Project illuminated the ways in which life in the United States has been shaped by the existence of slavery, this “historical, literary masterpiece” (Kiese Laymon, author of Heavy) focuses on emancipation and how its afterlife further codified the racial caste system—instead of obliterating it.
TitleShallow Waters
AuthorKopacz, Anita
Sub-ImprintAtria/Black Privilege Publishing
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / African American & Black/Women
Category Full 2FICTION / Fantasy/Historical
Category Full 3FICTION / Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology
ISBN-139781982179663
On Sale08/03/21
Title StatusAS
US Price$26
CDN Price$35
Pages224
Cover StatusFinal
“Spellbinding...A captivating debut.” —Harper’s Bazaar

In this stirring and lyrical debut novel—perfect for fans of The Water Dancer and the Legacy of Orïsha series—the Yoruba deity of the sea, Yemaya, is brought to vivid life as she discovers the power of Black resilience, love, and feminine strength in antebellum America.
TitleBlack Ink
Author
Sub-Imprint37 INK
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1LITERARY COLLECTIONS / American/African American & Black
Category Full 2LITERARY CRITICISM / American/African American & Black
Category Full 3LANGUAGE ARTS & DISCIPLINES / Writing/Authorship
ISBN-139781501154294
On Sale12/04/18
Title StatusAS
US Price$17.99
CDN Price$24.99
Pages272
Cover StatusFinal
Spanning over 250 years of history, Black Ink traces black literature in America from Frederick Douglass to Ta-Nehisi Coates in this “breathtaking anthology celebrating the power of the written word to forge change” (O, The Oprah Magazine).
TitleWrath
AuthorMurray, Victoria Christopher
Sub-ImprintGallery Books
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1FICTION / African American & Black/Women
Category Full 2FICTION / African American & Black/Christian
Category Full 3FICTION / Romance/African American & Black
ISBN-139781982142926
On Sale01/05/21
Title StatusAS
US Price$16
CDN Price$22
Pages384
Cover StatusFinal
The award-winning author of The Personal Librarian delivers an unforgettable story of a marriage caught at the crossroads of passion and rage—the inspiration for four Lifetime original movies.
TitleSystemic Racism 101
AuthorLiving Cities
Sub-ImprintAdams Media
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1HISTORY / African American & Black
Category Full 2SOCIAL SCIENCE / Social Classes & Economic Disparity
Category Full 3SOCIAL SCIENCE / Discrimination
ISBN-139781507216491
On Sale01/25/22
Title StatusAS
US Price$17.99
CDN Price$24.99
Pages224
Cover StatusFinal
Discover how—and why—Black, Indigenous, and people of color in America experience societal, economic, and infrastructural inequality throughout history covering everything from Columbus’s arrival in 1492 to the War on Drugs to the Black Lives Matter movement.
TitleJust Pursuit
AuthorCoates, Laura
Sub-ImprintSimon & Schuster
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Cultural, Ethnic & Regional/African American & Black
Category Full 2SOCIAL SCIENCE / Discrimination
Category Full 3POLITICAL SCIENCE / Civil Rights
ISBN-139781982173760
On Sale01/18/22
Title StatusAS
US Price$27
CDN Price$36
Pages272
Cover StatusFinal
This instant New York Times bestseller offers “a firsthand, eye-opening story of a prosecutor that exposes the devastating criminal punishment system” (Ibram X. Kendi, National Book Award–winning author of How to Be an Antiracist) in this “compelling collection of engaging, well-written, keenly observed vignettes from [Laura Coates’s] years as a lawyer with the US Department of Justice” (The New York Times Book Review).
TitleWe Inherit What the Fires Left
AuthorEvans, William
Sub-ImprintSimon & Schuster
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1POETRY / American/African American & Black
Category Full 2BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Cultural, Ethnic & Regional/African American & Black
Category Full 3POETRY / Subjects & Themes/Family
ISBN-139781982127398
On Sale03/24/20
Title StatusAS
US Price$16
CDN Price$22
Pages160
Cover StatusFinal
William Evans, the award-winning poet and cofounder of the popular culture website Black Nerd Problems, offers an emotionally vulnerable poetry collection exploring the themes of inheritances, dreams, and injuries that are passed down from one generation to the next and delving into the lived experience of a black man in the American suburbs today.
TitleRed Island House
AuthorLee, Andrea
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / African American & Black/Women
Category Full 2FICTION / Literary
Category Full 3FICTION / Family Life/Marriage & Divorce
ISBN-139781982137809
On Sale03/23/21
Title StatusAS
US Price$27
CDN Price$36
Pages288
Cover StatusFinal
From National Book Award–nominated writer Andrea Lee comes Red Island House, a travel epic that opens a window on the mysterious African island of Madagascar, and on the dangers of life and love in paradise, as seen through the eyes of a Black American heroine.
TitleMy Mother. Barack Obama. Donald Trump. And the Last Stand of the Angry White Man.
AuthorPowell, Kevin
Sub-ImprintAtria Books
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1SOCIAL SCIENCE / Ethnic Studies/American/African American & Black Studies
Category Full 2BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Cultural, Ethnic & Regional/General
Category Full 3BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Literary Figures
ISBN-139781982105259
On Sale05/14/19
Title StatusAS
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages304
Cover StatusFinal
Written in the tradition of works by Joan Didion, bell hooks, Toni Morrison, and Eve Ensler, this “profoundly insightful and brilliantly inciting” (Dominique Morisseau, Obie Award-winning playwright) exploration of the soul of the United States—the past, the present, and the future Kevin Powell wants for us all, through the lens and lives of three major figures: his mother, Barack Obama, and Donald Trump.
TitleBlack Joy
AuthorLewis-Giggetts, Tracey Michaeā€™l
Sub-ImprintGallery Books
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Cultural, Ethnic & Regional/African American & Black
Category Full 2SOCIAL SCIENCE / Race & Ethnic Relations
Category Full 3LITERARY COLLECTIONS / Essays
ISBN-139781982176563
On Sale11/22/22
Title StatusAS
US Price$17.99
CDN Price$24.99
Pages288
Cover StatusFinal
Winner of the NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work - Instructional

With deeply personal and uplifting essays in the vein of Black Girls Rock!, You Are Your Best Thing, and I Really Needed This Today, this is “a necessary testimony on the magic and beauty of our capacity to live and love fully and out loud” (Kerry Washington).