AL Latinx Books Catalog
TitleThe Distance Between Us
AuthorGrande, Reyna
ImprintAtria
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
Category Full 2BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Cultural, Ethnic & Regional/Hispanic & Latino
Category 3Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781451661781
On Sale03/12/13
US Price$18.99
CDN Price$25.99
Pages368
EditorAdero, Malaika
DesignerEttlin, Robert
In this inspirational and unflinchingly honest memoir, acclaimed author Reyna Grande describes her childhood torn between the United States and Mexico, and shines a light on the experiences, fears, and hopes of those who choose to make the harrowing journey across the border.
TitleLa distancia entre nosotros
AuthorGrande, Reyna
ImprintAtria
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
Category Full 2BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Cultural, Ethnic & Regional/Hispanic & Latino
Category 3Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781476710402
On Sale04/16/13
US Price$18.99
CDN Price$25.99
Pages384
EditorAdero, Malaika
DesignerHealey, Meghan Day
“Una historia desgarradora sobre el otro lado de la experiencia del inmigrante a EEUU– la penuria y la desolación de los niños dejados atrás por sus padres.” —Sonia Nazario, ganadora del premio Pulitzer y autora de La travesía de Enrique
TitleFlesh and Bone and Water
AuthorSauma, Luiza
ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / Literary
Category Full 2FICTION / Family Life/General
Category 3Fiction
ISBN-139781501158025
On Sale06/20/17
US Price$26
CDN Price$32
Pages272
EditorGraham, Nan
DesignerKabel, Kyle
From an exciting new voice in literary fiction, a seductive, dazzling, atmospheric story of family, class, and deception set against the mesmerizing backdrops of Rio de Janeiro, the Amazon River, and London.
TitleA Dream Called Home
AuthorGrande, Reyna
ImprintAtria
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
Category Full 2BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Cultural, Ethnic & Regional/General
Category 3Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781501171437
On Sale07/02/19
US Price$17.99
CDN Price$24.99
Pages336
EditorHerrera Mulligan, Michelle
DesignerEast, Lexy
“Here is a life story so unbelievable, it could only be true.” —Sandra Cisneros, bestselling author of The House on Mango Street

From bestselling author of the remarkable memoir The Distance Between Us comes an inspiring account of one woman’s quest to find her place in America as a first-generation Latina university student and aspiring writer determined to build a new life for her family one fearless word at a time.
TitleDefinitely Hispanic
AuthorJames, LeJuan
ImprintAtria
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Cultural, Ethnic & Regional/Hispanic & Latino
Category Full 2HUMOR / Form/Essays
Category 3Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781501194207
On Sale06/04/19
US Price$25
CDN Price$34
Pages224
EditorIglesias Perez, Melanie
DesignerWatanabe, Kyoko
Perfect for fans of Fresh Off the Boat’s situational humor and Jane the Virgin’s celebration of Latinidad, Definitely Hispanic is a collection of introspective memoiristic essays by social media influencer and viral phenomenon LeJuan James about growing up Hispanic in the US.
TitleThe Inheritance of Orquídea Divina
AuthorCórdova, Zoraida
ImprintAtria
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / Fantasy/Contemporary
Category Full 2FICTION / Magical Realism
Category 3Fiction
ISBN-139781982102548
On Sale09/07/21
US Price$27
CDN Price$36
Pages336
EditorIglesias Perez, Melanie
DesignerSloan, Dana
NATIONAL BESTSELLER

Perfect for fans of Alice Hoffman, Isabel Allende, and Sarah Addison Allen, a family searches for the truth hidden in their past in this “expertly woven tale of family power, threaded with as much mystery as magic” (V.E. Schwab, #1 New York Times bestselling author).
TitleUna vez fui tú (Once I Was You Spanish Edition)
AuthorHinojosa, Maria
ImprintAtria
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Editors, Journalists, Publishers
Category Full 2SOCIAL SCIENCE / Emigration & Immigration
Category 3Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781982135201
On Sale09/15/20
US Price$16.99
CDN Price$22.99
Pages400
EditorHerrera Mulligan, Michelle
DesignerSloan, Dana
“El punto de vista de María es poderoso y vital. Hace años, cuando In the Heights empezaba a presentarse en teatros off-Broadway, María corrió la voz en nuestra comunidad para que apoyáramos este nuevo musical que trataba sobre nuestros vecindarios. Ella ha sido una campeona de nuestros triunfos, una crítica de nuestros detractores y una fuerza clave para enfrentar y corregir los errores de nuestra sociedad. Cuando María habla, estoy listo para escuchar y aprender de ella.” Lin-Manuel Miranda

La periodista ganadora de cuatro premios Emmy y presentadora de Latino USA de NPR, María Hinojosa, cuenta la historia de la inmigración en los Estados Unidos a través de las experiencias de su familia y décadas de hacer reportajes, con lo cual crea un riguroso retrato de un país en crisis.
TitleTrejo
AuthorTrejo, Danny
ImprintAtria
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Entertainment & Performing Arts
Category Full 2BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
Category 3Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781982150822
On Sale07/06/21
US Price$27
CDN Price$36
Pages288
EditorHerrera Mulligan, Michelle
DesignerPutorti, Jill L
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“If you’re a fan like I am this is definitely the book for you.” —Pete Davidson, actor, producer, and cast member on Saturday Night Live

“Danny’s incredible life story shows that even though we may fall down at some point in our lives, it’s what we do when we stand back up that really counts.” —Robert Rodriguez, creator of Spy Kids, Desperado, and Machete

Discover the full, fascinating, and inspirational true story of Danny Trejo’s journey from crime, prison, addiction, and loss—it’s “enough to make you believe in the possibility of a Hollywood ending” (The New York Times Book Review).
TitleTrejo (Spanish edition)
AuthorTrejo, Danny
ImprintAtria
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Entertainment & Performing Arts
Category Full 2BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
Category 3Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781982150853
On Sale07/06/21
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages352
EditorHerrera Mulligan, Michelle
DesignerSloan, Dana
Por primera vez, toda la historia real, fascinante e inspiradora del viaje de Danny Trejo desde el crimen, la prisión, la adicción y la pérdida a la fama inesperada como el malo favorito de Hollywood con un corazón de oro.
TitleDancing with Butterflies
AuthorGrande, Reyna
ImprintAtria
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1FICTION / Hispanic & Latino
Category Full 2FICTION / Women
Category 3Fiction
ISBN-139781439109069
On Sale10/06/09
US Price$18
CDN Price$25
Pages416
EditorHerrera Mulligan, Michelle
DesignerWatanabe, Kyoko
In Dancing with Butterflies, Reyna Grande renders the Mexican immigrant experience in “lyrical and sensual” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) prose through the poignant stories of four women brought together through folklorico dance.