AL World War II Catalog
TitleThe Clockmaker's Daughter
AuthorMorton, Kate
Sub-ImprintWashington Square Press
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1FICTION / Literary
Category Full 2FICTION / Historical/General
Category Full 3FICTION / General
ISBN-139781451649413
On Sale05/21/19
Title StatusAS
US Price$18
CDN Price$25
Pages496
Cover StatusFinal
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“An ambitious, compelling historical mystery with a fabulous cast of characters…Kate Morton at her very best.” —Kristin Hannah

An elaborate tapestry…Morton doesn’t disappoint.” The Washington Post

"Classic English country-house Goth at its finest." New York Post
TitleManhattan Beach
AuthorEgan, Jennifer
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1FICTION / Literary
Category Full 2FICTION / Historical/General
Category Full 3FICTION / General
ISBN-139781476716749
On Sale06/05/18
Title StatusAS
US Price$17
CDN Price$22
Pages448
Cover StatusFinal
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A New York Times Notable Book

Winner of the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction

The daring and magnificent novel from the Pulitzer Prize–winning author.

Named One of the Best Books of the Year by NPR, Esquire, Vogue, The Washington Post, The Guardian, USA TODAY, and Time
TitleThe Magician
AuthorToibin, Colm
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / Literary
Category Full 2FICTION / Historical/General
Category Full 3FICTION / Biographical
ISBN-139781476785080
On Sale09/07/21
Title StatusAS
US Price$28
CDN Price
Pages512
Cover StatusFinal
A New York Times Notable Book, Critic’s Top Pick, and Top Ten Book of Historical Fiction

Named a Best Book of the Year by The Washington Post, NPR, Vogue, The Wall Street Journal, and Bloomberg Businessweek

From one of today’s most brilliant and beloved novelists, a dazzling, epic family saga set across a half-century spanning World War I, the rise of Hitler, World War II, and the Cold War that is “a feat of literary sorcery in its own right” (Oprah Daily).
TitleDear Mrs. Bird
AuthorPearce, AJ
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / Historical/General
Category Full 2FICTION / Coming of Age
Category Full 3FICTION / Humorous/General
ISBN-139781501170065
On Sale07/03/18
Title StatusAS
US Price$26
CDN Price$35
Pages288
Cover StatusFinal
This charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about a young woman who longs to be a war correspondent and inadvertantly becomes a secret advice columnist is “a jaunty, heartbreaking winner” (People)—for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.
TitleYours Cheerfully
AuthorPearce, AJ
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / Historical/World War II
Category Full 2FICTION / Coming of Age
Category Full 3FICTION / Humorous/General
ISBN-139781501170096
On Sale08/10/21
Title StatusAS
US Price$26
CDN Price$35
Pages304
Cover StatusFinal
From the author of the “jaunty, heartbreaking winner” (People) and international bestseller Dear Mrs. Bird comes a charming and uplifting novel set in London during World War II about a plucky young journalist and her adventures as wartime advice columnist.
TitleThe Storm
AuthorAnwar, Arif
Sub-ImprintAtria Books
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / Literary
Category Full 2FICTION / Family Life/General
Category Full 3FICTION / Cultural Heritage
ISBN-139781501174506
On Sale05/15/18
Title StatusAS
US Price$28
CDN Price
Pages320
Cover StatusFinal
“A remarkable debut, in which fiction vividly portrays specific events in history.”—Booklist (starred review)

“This powerful and important debut is a story for our time.” —Library Journal (starred review)

From an immensely talented new voice in international fiction, a sweeping tour de force that seamlessly interweaves five love stories that, together, chronicle sixty years of Bangladeshi history.
TitleAn Elegant Woman
AuthorMcPhee, Martha
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / Literary
Category Full 2FICTION / Women
Category Full 3FICTION / Historical/General
ISBN-139781501179570
On Sale06/02/20
Title StatusAS
US Price$27
CDN Price$36
Pages416
Cover StatusFinal
For fans of Mary Beth Keane and Jennifer Egan, this powerful, moving multigenerational saga from National Book Award finalist Martha McPhee—ten years in the making—explores one family’s story against the sweep of 20th century American history.
TitleThe Girl They Left Behind
AuthorVeletzos, Roxanne
Sub-ImprintWashington Square Press
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1FICTION / Historical/World War II
Category Full 2FICTION / Literary
Category Full 3FICTION / Historical/General
ISBN-139781501187698
On Sale09/03/19
Title StatusAS
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages368
Cover StatusFinal
A sweeping historical romance that is “gripping, tragic, yet filled with passion and hope” (Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author), offering a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest during World War II and its aftermath—perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah’s Key.
TitleThe Daughter's Tale
AuthorCorrea, Armando Lucas
Sub-ImprintWashington Square Press
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1FICTION / Historical/World War II
Category Full 2FICTION / Sagas
Category Full 3FICTION / Literary
ISBN-139781501187940
On Sale01/07/20
Title StatusAS
US Price$16.99
CDN Price$22.99
Pages336
Cover StatusFinal
From the internationally bestselling author of The German Girl, an unforgettable, “searing” (People) saga exploring a hidden piece of World War II history and the lengths a mother will go to protect her children—perfect for fans of Lilac Girls, We Were the Lucky Ones, and The Alice Network.
TitleThe Light Over London
AuthorKelly, Julia
Sub-ImprintGallery Books
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / Historical/World War II
Category Full 2FICTION / Romance/Historical/20th Century
Category Full 3FICTION / Women
ISBN-139781501196416
On Sale01/08/19
Title StatusAS
US Price$26
CDN Price$35
Pages336
Cover StatusFinal
Reminiscent of Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls and Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale, this sweeping, entrancing story is a must-read for fans of remarkable women rising to challenges they could never have predicted.