FYE Immigrant Experience
Title Status: AS
  Clearclear filter         
Title14 Miles
AuthorGibson, DW
Sub-ImprintSimon & Schuster
FormatHardcover
Category 1Social Science
ISBN-139781501183416
US Price$28
CDN Price$37
Pages352
Title StatusAS
An esteemed journalist delivers a compelling on-the-ground account of the construction of President Trump’s border wall in San Diego—and the impact on the lives of local residents.
TitleAlways Running
AuthorRodriguez, Luis J.
Sub-ImprintAtria Books
FormatPaperback
Category 1Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139780743276917
US Price$17.99
CDN Price$24.99
Pages288
Title StatusAS
The award-winning and bestselling classic memoir about a young Chicano gang member surviving the dangerous streets of East Los Angeles, now featuring a new introduction by the author.
TitleBarely Missing Everything
AuthorMendez, Matt
Sub-ImprintAtheneum Books for Young Readers
FormatPaperback
Category 1Young Adult Fiction
ISBN-139781534404465
US Price$11.99
CDN Price$15.99
Pages320
Title StatusAS
“There are moments when a story shakes you...Barely Missing Everything is one of those stories, and Mendez, a gifted storyteller with a distinct voice, is sure to bring a quake to the literary landscape.” —Jason Reynolds, New York Times bestselling author of Long Way Down

In the tradition of Jason Reynolds and Matt de la Peña, this heartbreaking, no-holds-barred debut novel told from three points of view explores how difficult it is to make it in life when you—your life, brown lives—don’t matter.
TitleDefinitely Hispanic
AuthorJames, LeJuan
Sub-ImprintAtria Books
FormatPaperback
Category 1Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781982110093
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages224
Title StatusAS
Perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin’s celebration of Latinidad and Fresh Off the Boat’s situational humor, Definitely Hispanic is a collection of introspective and witty essays by social media influencer and viral phenomenon LeJuan James about growing up Hispanic in the US.
TitleThe Distance Between Us
AuthorGrande, Reyna
Sub-ImprintWashington Square Press
FormatPaperback
Category 1Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781451661781
US Price$17.99
CDN Price$24.99
Pages352
Title StatusAS
In this inspirational and unflinchingly honest memoir, acclaimed author Reyna Grande describes her childhood torn between the United States and Mexico, and shines a light on the experiences, fears, and hopes of those who choose to make the harrowing journey across the border.
TitleA Dream Called Home
AuthorGrande, Reyna
Sub-ImprintWashington Square Press
FormatPaperback
Category 1Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781501171437
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages336
Title StatusAS
“Here is a life story so unbelievable, it could only be true.” —Sandra Cisneros, bestselling author of The House on Mango Street

From bestselling author of the remarkable memoir The Distance Between Us comes an inspiring account of one woman’s quest to find her place in America as a first-generation Latina university student and aspiring writer determined to build a new life for her family one fearless word at a time.
TitleInfinite Country
AuthorEngel, Patricia
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader Press
FormatHardcover
Category 1Fiction
ISBN-139781982159467
US Price$25
CDN Price$34
Pages208
Title StatusAS
A REESE’S BOOK CLUB PICK AND INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“A knockout of a novel…we predict [Infinite Country] will be viewed as one of 2021’s best.” —O, The Oprah Magazine

Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2021 from Esquire, O, The Oprah Magazine, Elle, GMA, New York Post, Ms. Magazine, The Millions, Electric Literature, LitHub, AARP, Refinery29, BuzzFeed, Autostraddle, She Reads, Alma, and more.

I often wonder if we are living the wrong life in the wrong country.
TitleThe Madonnas of Echo Park
AuthorSkyhorse, Brando
Sub-ImprintFree Press
FormatPaperback
Category 1Fiction
ISBN-139781439170847
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages240
Title StatusAS
Reminiscent of Sherman Alexie and Sandra Cisneros, acclaimed author Brando Skyhorse’s “engaging storytelling” (Vanity Fair) brings the Echo Park neighborhood of Los Angeles to life in this poignant and propulsive novel following several generations of Mexican immigrants through their shifting cultural and physical landscapes.
TitleA Nation of Nations
AuthorGjelten, Tom
Sub-ImprintSimon & Schuster
FormatPaperback
Category 1History
ISBN-139781476743868
US Price$18
CDN Price$25
Pages424
Title StatusAS
“An incisive look at immigration, assimilation, and national identity” (Kirkus Reviews) and the landmark immigration law that transformed the face of the nation more than fifty years ago, as told through the stories of immigrant families in one suburban county in Virginia.
TitleThe Newcomers
AuthorThorpe, Helen
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category 1Social Science
ISBN-139781501159107
US Price$18
CDN Price$25
Pages432
Title StatusAS
From the award-winning author of Soldier Girls and Just Like Us, an “extraordinary” (The Denver Post) account of refugee teenagers at a Denver public high school and their compassionate teacher and “a reminder that in an era of nativism, some Americans are still breaking down walls and nurturing the seeds of the great American experiment” (The New York Times Book Review).