FYE Immigrant Experience
Format: Paperback
  Clearclear filter         
TitleAmerican Like Me
AuthorFerrera, America
Sub-ImprintGallery Books
FormatPaperback
Category 1Social Science
ISBN-139781501180927
US Price$17.99
CDN Price$24.99
Pages336
Title StatusAS
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

From award-winning actress and political activist America Ferrera comes a vibrant and varied collection of first-person accounts from prominent figures about the experience of growing up between cultures.
TitleAlways Running
AuthorRodriguez, Luis J.
Sub-ImprintAtria Books
FormatPaperback
Category 1Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139780743276917
US Price$17.99
CDN Price$24.99
Pages288
Title StatusAS
The award-winning and bestselling classic memoir about a young Chicano gang member surviving the dangerous streets of East Los Angeles, now featuring a new introduction by the author.
TitleBarely Missing Everything
AuthorMendez, Matt
Sub-ImprintAtheneum Books for Young Readers
FormatPaperback
Category 1Young Adult Fiction
ISBN-139781534404465
US Price$11.99
CDN Price$15.99
Pages320
Title StatusAS
“There are moments when a story shakes you...Barely Missing Everything is one of those stories, and Mendez, a gifted storyteller with a distinct voice, is sure to bring a quake to the literary landscape.” —Jason Reynolds, New York Times bestselling author of Long Way Down

In the tradition of Jason Reynolds and Matt de la Peña, this heartbreaking, no-holds-barred debut novel told from three points of view explores how difficult it is to make it in life when you—your life, brown lives—don’t matter.
TitleThe Distance Between Us
AuthorGrande, Reyna
Sub-ImprintWashington Square Press
FormatPaperback
Category 1Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781451661781
US Price$17.99
CDN Price$24.99
Pages352
Title StatusAS
In this inspirational and unflinchingly honest memoir, acclaimed author Reyna Grande describes her childhood torn between the United States and Mexico, and shines a light on the experiences, fears, and hopes of those who choose to make the harrowing journey across the border.
TitleA Dream Called Home
AuthorGrande, Reyna
Sub-ImprintWashington Square Press
FormatPaperback
Category 1Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781501171437
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages336
Title StatusAS
“Here is a life story so unbelievable, it could only be true.” —Sandra Cisneros, bestselling author of The House on Mango Street

From bestselling author of the remarkable memoir The Distance Between Us comes an inspiring account of one woman’s quest to find her place in America as a first-generation Latina university student and aspiring writer determined to build a new life for her family one fearless word at a time.
TitleThe Madonnas of Echo Park
AuthorSkyhorse, Brando
Sub-ImprintFree Press
FormatPaperback
Category 1Fiction
ISBN-139781439170847
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages240
Title StatusAS
Reminiscent of Sherman Alexie and Sandra Cisneros, acclaimed author Brando Skyhorse’s “engaging storytelling” (Vanity Fair) brings the Echo Park neighborhood of Los Angeles to life in this poignant and propulsive novel following several generations of Mexican immigrants through their shifting cultural and physical landscapes.
TitleThe Newcomers
AuthorThorpe, Helen
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category 1Social Science
ISBN-139781501159107
US Price$18
CDN Price$25
Pages432
Title StatusAS
From the award-winning author of Soldier Girls and Just Like Us, an “extraordinary” (The Denver Post) account of refugee teenagers at a Denver public high school and their compassionate teacher and “a reminder that in an era of nativism, some Americans are still breaking down walls and nurturing the seeds of the great American experiment” (The New York Times Book Review).
TitleThe Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane
AuthorSee, Lisa
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category 1Fiction
ISBN-139781501154836
US Price$18
CDN Price$25
Pages400
Title StatusAS
From #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa See, “one of those special writers capable of delivering both poetry and plot” (The New York Times Book Review), a moving novel about tradition, tea farming, and the bonds between mothers and daughters.
Title14 Miles
AuthorGibson, DW
Sub-ImprintSimon & Schuster
FormatPaperback
Category 1Social Science
ISBN-139781501183430
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages352
Title StatusAS
An esteemed journalist delivers a compelling on-the-ground account of the construction of President Trump’s border wall in San Diego—and the impact on the lives of local residents.
TitleInfinite Country
AuthorEngel, Patricia
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader Press
FormatPaperback
Category 1Fiction
ISBN-139781982159474
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages256
Title StatusAS
A REESE’S BOOK CLUB PICK and INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

WINNER OF THE 2021 NEW AMERICAN VOICES AWARD, LONGLISTED FOR THE 2022 ANDREW CARNEGIE MEDAL, AND A NATIONAL ENDOWMENT OF THE ARTS “BIG READS” SELECTION

“A profound, beautiful novel.” —People * “Poignant.” —BuzzFeed * “A breathtaking story of the unimaginable prices paid for a better life.” —Esquire

This “heartbreaking portrait of a family dealing with the realities of migration and separation” (Time) is “a sweeping love story and tragic drama [and] an authentic vision of what the American Dream looks like in a nationalistic country” (Elle).