FYE Memoir & Biography
Format: Hardcover
  Clearclear filter         
TitleAftershocks
AuthorOwusu, Nadia
Sub-ImprintSimon & Schuster
FormatHardcover
Category 1Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781982111229
US Price$26
CDN Price$35
Pages320
Title StatusAS
In the tradition of The Glass Castle, this “gorgeous” (The New York Times, Editors’ Choice) and deeply felt memoir from Whiting Award winner Nadia Owusu tells the “incredible story” (Malala Yousafzai) about the push and pull of belonging, the seismic emotional toll of family secrets, and the heart it takes to pull through.

“In Aftershocks, Nadia Owusu tells the incredible story of her young life. How does a girl—abandoned by her mother at age two and orphaned at thirteen when her beloved father dies—find her place in the world? This memoir is the story of Nadia creating her own solid ground across countries and continents. I know the struggle of rebuilding your life in an unfamiliar place. While some of you might be familiar with that and some might not, I hope you’ll take as much inspiration and hope from her story as I did.” MALALA YOUSAFZAI

ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF 2021 SELECTED BY VULTURE AND TIME MAGAZINE!
TitleThe Buddhist on Death Row
AuthorSheff, David
Sub-ImprintSimon & Schuster
FormatHardcover
Category 1Body, Mind & Spirit
ISBN-139781982128456
US Price$27
CDN Price$36
Pages272
Title StatusAS
The #1 New York Times bestselling author of Beautiful Boy explores the transformation of Jarvis Jay Masters who has become one of America’s most inspiring Buddhist practitioners while locked in a cell on death row.
TitleEverything is Fine
AuthorGranata, Vince
Sub-ImprintAtria Books
FormatHardcover
Category 1Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781982133443
US Price$27
CDN Price$36
Pages304
Title StatusAS
In this extraordinarily moving memoir about grief, mental illness, and the bonds of family, a writer delves into the tragedy of his mother’s violent death at the hands of his brother who struggled with schizophrenia. Perfect for fans of An Unquiet Mind and The Bright Hour.
TitleEyes to the Wind
AuthorBarkan, Ady
Sub-ImprintAtria Books
FormatHardcover
Category 1Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781982111540
US Price$27
CDN Price$36
Pages304
Title StatusAS
In this inspirational and moving memoir—reminiscent of When Breath Becomes Air and The Bright Hour—activist Ady Barkan explores his life with ALS and how his diagnosis gave him a profound new understanding of his commitment to social justice for all.
TitleFilthy Beasts
AuthorHamill, Kirkland
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader press
FormatHardcover
Category 1Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781982122768
US Price$27
CDN Price$36
Pages320
Title StatusAS
Running with Scissors meets Grey Gardens in this gripping, true riches-to-rags tale of a wealthy family who lost it all and the unforgettable journey of a man coming to terms with his family’s deep flaws and his own long-buried truths.
TitleHow to Be Human
AuthorFleming, Jory
Sub-ImprintSimon & Schuster
FormatHardcover
Category 1Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781501180507
US Price$26
CDN Price$35
Pages192
Title StatusBSB
An unforgettable, unconventional narrative that examines the many ways to be fully human, told by the first young adult with autism to attend Oxford University as a Rhodes Scholar.
TitleI Am a Girl from Africa
AuthorNyamayaro, Elizabeth
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category 1Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781982113018
US Price$28
CDN Price$37
Pages272
Title StatusAS
The inspiring journey of a girl from Africa whose near-death experience sparked a dream that changed the world.
TitleOnce I Was You
AuthorHinojosa, Maria
Sub-ImprintAtria Books
FormatHardcover
Category 1Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781982128654
US Price$28
CDN Price$37
Pages352
Title StatusAS
NPR’s Best Books of 2020
BookPage’s Best Books of 2020
Real Simple’s Best Books of 2020
Boston.com readers voted one of Best Books of 2020

“Anyone striving to understand and improve this country should read her story.” —Gloria Steinem, author of My Life on the Road

The Emmy Award–winning journalist and anchor of NPR’s Latino USA tells the story of immigration in America through her family’s experiences and decades of reporting, painting an unflinching portrait of a country in crisis in this memoir that is “quite simply beautiful, written in Maria Hinojosa’s honest, passionate voice” (BookPage).
TitleSearching for Hassan
AuthorWard, Terence
Sub-ImprintTiller Press
FormatHardcover
Category 1Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781982142773
US Price$27.99
CDN Price$36.99
Pages368
Title StatusAS
This “astonishing and deeply poignant” (The Washington Post) memoir of one man’s search for a beloved family friend explores the depth of Iranian culture and the sweep of its history, and transcends today’s news headlines to remind us of the humanity that connects us all.
TitleSurviving The White Gaze
AuthorCarroll, Rebecca
Sub-ImprintSimon & Schuster
FormatHardcover
Category 1Biography & Autobiography
ISBN-139781982116255
US Price$26
CDN Price$35
Pages320
Title StatusAS
A stirring and powerful memoir from black cultural critic Rebecca Carroll recounting her painful struggle to overcome a completely white childhood in order to forge her identity as a black woman in America.