Spring 2019 Simon & Schuster Adult Publishing Catalog
Category: History
  Clearclear filter         
TitleMr. President, How Long Must We Wait?
AuthorCassidy, Tina
Sub-Imprint37 INK
FormatHardcover
Category 1History
ISBN-139781501177767
On Sale03/05/19
US Price$28
CDN Price$37
Pages304
An eye-opening, inspiring, and timely account of the complex relationship between notable suffragist Alice Paul and President Woodrow Wilson in her fight for women’s equality.
TitleHomey Don't Play That!
AuthorPeisner, David
Sub-Imprint37 INK
FormatPaperback
Category 1Performing Arts
ISBN-139781501143359
On Sale02/26/19
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages400
“A fascinating inside look at the trailblazing series” (Entertainment Tonight)—discover the behind-the-scenes stories and lasting impact of the trailblazing sketch comedy show that upended television, launched the careers of some of our biggest stars, and changed the way we talk, think, and laugh about race: In Living Color.
TitleIn Miniature
AuthorGarfield, Simon
Sub-ImprintAtria Books
FormatHardcover
Category 1Art
ISBN-139781501199585
On Sale03/12/19
US Price$25
CDN Price$34
Pages336
Bestselling, award-winning writer Simon Garfield returns with an enthralling investigation of humans’ peculiar fascination with small things—and what small things tell us about our larger world.

“[Simon Garfield is] an exuberant truffle-hound of the recondite and delightful factoid.” —Sunday Times (London)
TitleThe Storm on Our Shores
AuthorObmascik, Mark
Sub-ImprintAtria Books
FormatHardcover
Category 1History
ISBN-139781451678376
On Sale04/09/19
US Price$28
CDN Price$37
Pages256
“Mark Obmascik has deftly rescued an important story from the margins of our history—and from our countrys most forbidding frontier. Deeply researched and feelingly told, The Storm on Our Shores is a heartbreaking tale of tragedy and redemption.”Hampton Sides, bestselling author of Ghost Soldiers, In the Kingdom of Ice, and On Desperate Ground
TitleThe Storm on Our Shores
AuthorObmascik, Mark
Sub-ImprintAtria Books
FormatHardcover
Category 1History
ISBN-139781451678376
On Sale04/09/19
US Price$28
CDN Price$37
Pages256
“Mark Obmascik has deftly rescued an important story from the margins of our history—and from our countrys most forbidding frontier. Deeply researched and feelingly told, The Storm on Our Shores is a heartbreaking tale of tragedy and redemption.”Hampton Sides, bestselling author of Ghost Soldiers, In the Kingdom of Ice, and On Desperate Ground
TitleCrucible
AuthorFenby, Jonathan
Sub-ImprintS&S UK
FormatHardcover
Category 1History
ISBN-139781471155017
On Sale04/30/19
US Price$27
CDN Price$36
Pages624
An extraordinary and eye-opening account of the pivotal events during the thirteen months between 1947-1948 that shaped the world we know today.
TitleCrucible
AuthorFenby, Jonathan
Sub-ImprintS&S UK
FormatHardcover
Category 1History
ISBN-139781471155017
On Sale04/30/19
US Price$27
CDN Price$36
Pages624
An extraordinary and eye-opening account of the pivotal events during the thirteen months between 1947-1948 that shaped the world we know today.
TitleCrucible
AuthorFenby, Jonathan
Sub-ImprintS&S UK
FormatHardcover
Category 1History
ISBN-139781471155017
On Sale04/30/19
US Price$27
CDN Price$36
Pages624
An extraordinary and eye-opening account of the pivotal events during the thirteen months between 1947-1948 that shaped the world we know today.
TitleCode Name: Lise
AuthorLoftis, Larry
Sub-ImprintGallery Books
FormatHardcover
Category 1History
ISBN-139781501198656
On Sale01/15/19
US Price$27
CDN Price$36
Pages384
Best Nonfiction Books to Read in 2019—Woman’s Day
The Best Nonfiction Books Coming Out This Year—BookBub
“A nonfiction thriller.”—Wall Street Journal

From internationally bestselling author of the “gripping” (Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Into the Lion’s Mouth comes the extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II—perfect for fans of Unbroken, The Nightingale, and Code Girls.
TitleThe Catalogue of Shipwrecked Books
AuthorWilson-Lee, Edward
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category 1History
ISBN-139781982111397
On Sale03/12/19
US Price$30
CDN Price$39.99
Pages416
Named a Best Book of the Year by: * Financial Times * New Statesman * History Today * The Spectator *

“Like a Renaissance wonder cabinet, full of surprises and opening up into a lost world.” —Stephen Greenblatt

Shortlisted for the James Tait Black Prize for Biography

The impeccably researched and vividly rendered account of the forgotten quest by Christopher Columbus’s son to create the greatest library in the world—“a perfectly pitched poetic drama” (Financial Times) and an amazing tour through sixteenth-century Europe.