Spring 2019 Simon & Schuster Adult Publishing Catalog
TitleOnce Upon a River
AuthorSetterfield, Diane
Sub-ImprintEmily Bestler Books / Atria Books
FormatHardcover
Category 1Fiction
ISBN-139780743298070
On Sale12/04/18
US Price$28
CDN Price
Pages480
“One of the most pleasurable and satisfying new books I've read in a long time. Setterfield is a master storyteller...swift and entrancing, profound and beautiful.” —Madeline Miller, internationally bestselling author of Circe and The Song of Achilles

“A beguiling tale, full of twists and turns like the river at its heart, and just as rich and intriguing.” —M.L. Stedman, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Light Between Oceans

“This is magical, bewitching storytelling...High prose expressed with rare clarity, story for the unashamed sake of story, a kind of moral dreaminess…well, the list continues to grow.”—Jim Crace, National Book Critics Circle winner and author of Being Dead and Harvest

From the instant #1 New York Times bestselling author of the “eerie and fascinating” (USA TODAY) The Thirteenth Tale comes a richly imagined, powerful new novel about the wrenching disappearance of three little girls and the wide-reaching effect it has on their small town.
TitleWatching You
AuthorJewell, Lisa
Sub-ImprintAtria Books
FormatHardcover
Category 1Fiction
ISBN-139781501190070
On Sale12/26/18
US Price$26
CDN Price$35
Pages336
“Quickly and assuredly, Jewell builds an ecosystem of countervailing suspicions…Tricky, clever, unexpected.” —New York Times Book Review

“Brace yourself as Jewell stacks up the secrets, then lights a long, slow fuse.” —People

“A seize-you-by-the-throat thriller and a genuinely moving family drama.” —A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

The instant New York Times and #1 Sunday Times bestselling author of the Then She Was Gone delivers another suspenseful page-turner about a shocking murder in a picturesque and well-to-do English town, perfect “for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train, and Luckiest Girl Alive” (Library Journal).
TitleThe Wolf and the Watchman
AuthorNatt och Dag, Niklas
Sub-ImprintAtria Books
FormatHardcover
Category 1Fiction
ISBN-139781501196775
On Sale03/05/19
US Price$28
CDN Price$37
Pages384
“For Stieg Larsson fans, a new voice...a stunning debut....Like Umberto Eco’s novel [The Name of the Rose, this] is a cerebral, immersive page-turner [with] a moral heft reminiscent of works by Graham Greene....Plenty of twists to satisfy thrill-starved readers.” —The Washington Post

“What's better than an ornate period piece with style to spare? One that includes a murder mystery. Oh, and boy is it a riveting mystery....A bit of Patrick Süskind’s Perfume and a bit of Sherlock Holmes, this wolf has some bite to it.” —NPR

“Reads like a season of ‘True Detective’...anchored by a powerful sense of place and a memorable cast of characters....You won’t soon forget it.” —USA TODAY

Named Best Debut Novel of 2017 by the Swedish Academy of Crime Writers
TitleThe Falconer
AuthorCzapnik, Dana
Sub-ImprintAtria Books
FormatHardcover
Category 1Fiction
ISBN-139781501193224
On Sale01/29/19
US Price$25
CDN Price$34
Pages288
A New York Times Editor's Choice Pick

O, The Oprah Magazine Reading Room #1 Pick for March

“[An] electric debut novel… Reader, beware: Spending time with Lucy is unapologetic fun, and heartbreak, and awe as well.” —Chloe Malle, New York Times Book Review

The Falconer is a novel of huge heart and fierce intelligence. It has restored my faith in pretty much everything.” —Ann Patchett, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Commonwealth
TitleHouse on Fire
AuthorKistler, Bonnie
Sub-ImprintAtria Books
FormatHardcover
Category 1Fiction
ISBN-139781501198687
On Sale03/12/19
US Price$27
CDN Price$32.99
Pages416
In the bestselling tradition of Jodi Picoult and Celeste Ng, a tightly wound and suspenseful novel about a blended family in crisis after a drunk driving accident leaves the daughter of one parent dead—and the son of the other parent charged with manslaughter.
TitleA Spy in Exile
Authorde Shalit, Jonathan
Sub-ImprintEmily Bestler Books / Atria Books
FormatHardcover
Category 1Fiction
ISBN-139781501170560
On Sale02/05/19
US Price$27
CDN Price$36
Pages384
“Thrilling.”—The Wall Street Journal

From the author of the internationally bestselling “supremely effective, cunningly crafted” (The Providence Journal) thriller Traitor, a cerebral and suspenseful novel of high-stakes intrigue in Israel’s top intelligence agency.
TitleMy Sister's Keeper
AuthorPicoult, Jodi
Sub-ImprintEmily Bestler Books / Atria Books
FormatMass Market Paperbound
Category 1Fiction
ISBN-139781982107444
On Sale02/26/19
US Price$9.99
CDN Price$12.99
Pages496
From the New York Times bestselling author of Small Great Things and The Storyteller, a “beautifully crafted novel” (People) that explores a family torn apart by conflicting needs and a passionate love that triumphs over human weakness.
TitleTrue Believer
AuthorCarr, Jack
Sub-ImprintEmily Bestler Books / Atria Books
FormatHardcover
Category 1Fiction
ISBN-139781501180842
On Sale07/30/19
US Price$28
CDN Price$37
Pages496
In acclaimed author Jack Carr’s follow-up to The Terminal List, former Navy SEAL James Reece’s skill, cunning, and heroism put the US government back in his debt and set him on another path of revenge.
TitleThe Terminal List
AuthorCarr, Jack
Sub-ImprintEmily Bestler Books / Atria Books
FormatMass Market Paperbound
Category 1Fiction
ISBN-139781501180828
On Sale12/18/18
US Price$9.99
CDN Price$12.99
Pages496
A Navy SEAL has nothing left to live for and everything to kill for after he discovers that the American government is behind the deaths of his team in this ripped-from-the-headlines political thriller that is “so powerful, so pulse-pounding, so well-written—rarely do you read a debut novel this damn good” (Brad Thor, #1 New York Times bestselling author).
TitleHeads of the Colored People
AuthorThompson-Spires, Nafissa
Sub-Imprint37 INK
FormatPaperback
Category 1Fiction
ISBN-139781501168000
On Sale01/22/19
US Price$16
CDN Price$22
Pages224
*PEN Open Book Award Winner*
*Longlisted for the 2018 National Book Award and Aspen Words Literary Prize*
*Nominated for the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize*
*Kirkus Prize and Los Angeles Times Book Prize Finalist*

Included in Best Books of 2018 Lists from Refinery29, NPR, The Root, HuffPost, Vanity Fair, Bustle, Chicago Tribune, PopSugar, and The Undefeated.

In one of the season’s most acclaimed works of fiction—longlisted for the National Book Award and winner of the PEN Open Book Award—Nafissa Thompson-Spires offers “a firecracker of a book...a triumph of storytelling: intelligent, acerbic, and ingenious” (Financial Times).