Fall 2019 Scribner Catalog
Format: Hardcover
  Clearclear filter         
TitleOur Dogs, Ourselves
AuthorHorowitz, Alexandra
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1PETS / Dogs/General
Category Full 2NATURE / Animals/General
Category Full 3SOCIAL SCIENCE / Anthropology/General
ISBN-139781501175008
On Sale09/03/19
US Price$28
CDN Price$37
Pages320
Cover StatusFinal
From Alexandra Horowitz, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Inside of a Dog, an eye-opening, informative, and wholly entertaining examination and celebration of the human-canine relationship for the curious dog owner and science-lover alike.
TitleThe Best American Poetry 2019
AuthorLehman, David
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1POETRY / General
Category Full 2POETRY / Anthologies (multiple authors)
Category Full 3POETRY / American/General
ISBN-139781982106560
On Sale09/10/19
US Price$35
CDN Price$47
Pages272
Cover StatusFinal
The 2019 edition of The Best American Poetry—“one of the mainstays of the poetry publication world” (Academy of American Poets)—now guest edited by Major Jackson, award-winning poet and poetry editor of the Harvard Review.
TitleOut of Darkness, Shining Light
AuthorGappah, Petina
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / Literary
Category Full 2FICTION / Historical/General
Category Full 3FICTION / Friendship
ISBN-139781982110338
On Sale09/10/19
US Price$27
CDN Price$36
Pages320
Cover StatusFinal
“Engrossing, beautiful, and deeply imaginative, Out of Darkness, Shining Light is a novel that lends voice to those who appeared only as footnotes in history, yet whose final, brave act of loyalty and respect changed the course of it. An incredible and important book by a masterful writer.” ​—Yaa Gyasi, author of Homegoing
TitleThe Institute
AuthorKing, Stephen
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / Thrillers/Suspense
Category Full 2FICTION / Horror
Category Full 3FICTION / Thrillers/Supernatural
ISBN-139781982110567
On Sale09/10/19
US Price$30
CDN Price$39.99
Pages576
Cover StatusFinal
From #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephen King, the most riveting and unforgettable story of kids confronting evil since It—publishing just as the second part of It, the movie, lands in theaters.
TitleWildhood
AuthorNatterson-Horowitz, Barbara
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1SCIENCE / Life Sciences/Zoology/Mammals
Category Full 2PSYCHOLOGY / Developmental/Adolescent
Category Full 3FAMILY & RELATIONSHIPS / Parenting/General
ISBN-139781501164699
On Sale09/17/19
US Price$28
CDN Price$37
Pages368
Cover StatusFinal
Publishers Weekly Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2019
A New York Times Editor’s Pick
People Best Books Fall 2019
Chicago Tribune 28 Books You Need to Read Now


“It blew my mind to discover that teenage animals and teenage humans are so similar. Both are naive risk-takers. I loved this book!” —Temple Grandin, author of Animals Make Us Human and Animals in Translation

A revelatory investigation of human and animal adolescence and young adulthood from the New York Times bestselling authors of Zoobiquity.
TitleThe Day It Finally Happens
AuthorPearl, Mike
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1SOCIAL SCIENCE / Popular Culture
Category Full 2SOCIAL SCIENCE / Future Studies
Category Full 3REFERENCE / Trivia
ISBN-139781501194139
On Sale09/17/19
US Price$27
CDN Price$36
Pages304
Cover StatusFinal
From a Vice magazine columnist whose beat is “the future,” here is entertaining speculation featuring both authoritative research and a bit of mischief: a look at how humanity is likely to weather such happenings as the day nuclear war occurs, the day the global internet goes down, the day we run out of effective antibiotics, and the day immortality is achieved.
TitleDarkness at Noon
AuthorKoestler, Arthur
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / Literary
Category Full 2FICTION / Political
Category Full 3FICTION / Psychological
ISBN-139781982123734
On Sale09/17/19
US Price$28
CDN Price$37
Pages272
Cover StatusFinal
The newly discovered lost text of Arthur Koestler’s modern masterpiece, Darkness at Noon—the haunting portrait of a revolutionary, imprisoned and tortured under totalitarian rule—is now restored and in a completely new translation.
TitleThe Crossed-Out Notebook
AuthorGiacobone, Nicolás
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / Literary
Category Full 2FICTION / Thrillers/Suspense
Category Full 3FICTION / Psychological
ISBN-139781501198748
On Sale09/24/19
US Price$25
CDN Price$34
Pages256
Cover StatusFinal
From the Academy Award-winning cowriter of Birdman, a wonderfully eccentric, suspenseful debut in the tradition of Misery and Kiss of the Spiderwoman about a screenwriter kidnapped by a world-famous director who orders him to compose a masterpiece.
TitleThe Tyranny of Virtue
AuthorBoyers, Robert
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1EDUCATION / Higher
Category Full 2POLITICAL SCIENCE / Political Ideologies/Conservatism & Liberalism
Category Full 3EDUCATION / Essays
ISBN-139781982127183
On Sale09/24/19
US Price$27
CDN Price$36
Pages192
Cover StatusFinal
From public intellectual and professor Robert Boyers, a thought-provoking volume of nine essays that elegantly and fiercely addresses recent developments in American culture and argues for the tolerance of difference that is at the heart of the liberal tradition.
TitleShe Was Like That
AuthorWalbert, Kate
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / Literary
Category Full 2FICTION / Short Stories (single author)
Category Full 3FICTION / Family Life/General
ISBN-139781476799421
On Sale10/01/19
US Price$26
CDN Price$35
Pages256
Cover StatusFinal
From Kate Walbert, the highly acclaimed, National Book Award nominee, comes a dazzling, career-spanning collection of new and selected stories.