Summer 2020 Simon & Schuster Adult Publishing Catalog
Pub Month: August 2020
  Clearclear filter         
TitleBear Necessity
AuthorGould-Bourn, James
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / Family Life/General
Category Full 2FICTION / Humorous/General
Category Full 3FICTION / Friendship
ISBN-139781982128296
On Sale08/04/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$26
CDN Price$35
Pages320
Cover StatusReady to Feed
A heartwarming, poignant, and charming debut novel for fans of Nick Hornby and The Rosie Project, about a father and son overcoming their grief in surprisingly inventive ways.
TitleTender Is the Flesh
AuthorBazterrica, Agustina
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1FICTION / Literary
Category Full 2FICTION / Dystopian
Category Full 3FICTION / Hispanic & Latino
ISBN-139781982150921
On Sale08/04/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$16
CDN Price$22
Pages224
Cover StatusReady to Feed
The electrifying, award-winning, internationally bestselling novel about a dystopian world in which animals have been wiped out, humans are being harvested for food, and society has been divided into those who eat and those who are eaten.
TitleLying for Money
AuthorDavies, Dan
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1TRUE CRIME / White Collar Crime
Category Full 2BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / Business Ethics
Category Full 3BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / Entrepreneurship
ISBN-139781982114930
On Sale08/04/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$28
CDN Price$37
Pages352
Cover StatusReady to Feed
An entertaining, deeply informative explanation of how high-level financial crimes work, written by an industry insider who’s an expert in the field.
TitleBunker
AuthorGarrett, Bradley
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1REFERENCE / Survival & Emergency Preparedness
Category Full 2SOCIAL SCIENCE / Future Studies
Category Full 3SOCIAL SCIENCE / Anthropology/Cultural & Social
ISBN-139781501188558
On Sale08/04/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$28
CDN Price$37
Pages288
Cover StatusReady to Feed
An informative, chilling, and bizarrely entertaining inside look at the thousands of “prepper” communities around the world that are building bunkers against the coming apocalypse.
TitleOur Dogs, Ourselves
AuthorHorowitz, Alexandra
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1PETS / Dogs/General
Category Full 2PETS / Dogs/Training
Category Full 3PETS / Dogs/Breeds
ISBN-139781501175015
On Sale08/04/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$18
CDN Price$25
Pages320
Cover StatusReady to Feed
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Inside of a Dog, an eye-opening, informative, “entertaining, and enlightening” (BookPage) celebration of the human-canine relationship for the curious dog owner and science-lover alike.
TitleFire in the Sky
AuthorDillow, Gordon
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1SCIENCE / Space Science
Category Full 2SCIENCE / History
Category Full 3NATURE / Animals/Dinosaurs & Prehistoric Creatures
ISBN-139781501187759
On Sale08/04/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages288
Cover StatusReady to Feed
This “accessible and always entertaining” (Booklist) combination of history, pop science, and in-depth reporting offers a fascinating account of the asteroids that hit Earth long ago and those streaming toward us now, as well as how prepared we are against asteroid-caused catastrophe.
TitleThe Patient Assassin
AuthorAnand, Anita
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Historical
Category Full 2HISTORY / Asia/India & South Asia
Category Full 3HISTORY / Europe/Great Britain/20th Century
ISBN-139781501195716
On Sale08/11/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$18
CDN Price$25
Pages384
Cover StatusReady to Feed
The “compelling [and] vivid” (The New York Times Book Review) true story of a man who claimed to be a survivor of a 1919 British massacre in India, his elaborate twenty-year plan for revenge, and the mix of truth and legend that made him a hero to hundreds of millions.
TitleThe Behavior of Love
AuthorReeves, Virginia
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1FICTION / Literary
Category Full 2FICTION / Family Life/General
Category Full 3FICTION / Family Life/Marriage & Divorce
ISBN-139781501183515
On Sale08/04/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$16
CDN Price$22
Pages304
Cover StatusReady to Feed
A riveting, “psychologically acute” (Esquire) portrait of a marriage, from the Man Booker Prize­–longlisted author of Work Like Any Other—“a deep saturation and beauty of experience” (The New Yorker).
TitleThe World That We Knew
AuthorHoffman, Alice
Sub-ImprintSimon & Schuster
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1FICTION / Literary
Category Full 2FICTION / Historical/General
Category Full 3FICTION / Occult & Supernatural
ISBN-139781501137587
On Sale08/04/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages384
Cover StatusReady to Feed
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * LONGLISTED FOR THE ANDREW CARNEGIE MEDAL

On the brink of World War II, with the Nazis tightening their grip on Berlin, a mother’s act of courage and love offers her daughter a chance of survival.

“[A] hymn to the power of resistance, perseverance, and enduring love in dark times…gravely beautiful…Hoffman the storyteller continues to dazzle.” —THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW
TitleThe Bright Side Sanctuary for Animals
AuthorMandelbaum, Becky
Sub-ImprintSimon & Schuster
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / Literary
Category Full 2FICTION / Women
Category Full 3FICTION / Coming of Age
ISBN-139781982112981
On Sale08/04/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$26
CDN Price$35
Pages336
Cover StatusReady to Feed
From the winner of the 2016 Flannery O’Connor Award for Short Fiction comes a tender and funny debut novel, set over one emotionally charged weekend at an animal sanctuary in western Kansas, where maternal, romantic, and community bonds are tested in the wake of an estranged daughter’s homecoming.