Summer 2020 Avid Reader Press Catalog
Title Status: AS
  Clearclear filter         
TitleGolf's Holy War
AuthorCyrgalis, Brett
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader press
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1SPORTS & RECREATION / Golf
Category Full 2TECHNOLOGY / Social Aspects
Category Full 3SPORTS & RECREATION / Coaching/General
ISBN-139781476707594
On Sale05/05/20
Title StatusAS
US Price$28
CDN Price$37
Pages272
Cover StatusFinal
Just as Michael Lewis’s Moneyball captured baseball at a technological turning point, Brett Cyrgalis’s Golf’s Holy War takes us inside golf’s clash between its beloved artistic tradition and its analytic future.
TitleProphetic City
AuthorKlineberg, Stephen
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader press
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / Development/Economic Development
Category Full 2SOCIAL SCIENCE / Sociology/Urban
Category Full 3HISTORY / United States/State & Local/Southwest (AZ, NM, OK, TX)
ISBN-139781501177910
On Sale06/02/20
Title StatusAS
US Price$28
CDN Price$37
Pages336
Cover StatusFinal
Sociologist Stephen Klineberg presents fascinating and groundbreaking research that shows how the city of Houston has emerged as a microcosm for America’s future—based on an unprecedented thirty-eight-year study of its changing economic, demographic, and cultural landscapes.
TitleThree Women
AuthorTaddeo, Lisa
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader press
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1HISTORY / Social History
Category Full 2SOCIAL SCIENCE / Human Sexuality (see also PSYCHOLOGY/Human Sexuality)
Category Full 3SOCIAL SCIENCE / Women's Studies
ISBN-139781451642308
On Sale07/07/20
Title StatusAS
US Price$17
CDN Price$19.99
Pages336
Cover StatusFinal
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * #1 SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER * #1 INDIE NEXT PICK

Named a Best Book of the Year: The Washington Post * NPR * The Atlantic * New York Public Library * Vanity Fair * PBS * Time * Economist * Entertainment Weekly * Financial Times * Shelf Awareness * Guardian * Sunday Times * BBC * Esquire * Good Housekeeping * Elle * Real Simple * And more than twenty additional outlets

“Staggeringly intimate...Taddeo spent eight years reporting this groundbreaking book.” —Entertainment Weekly

“A breathtaking and important book…What a fine thing it is to be enthralled by another writer’s sentences. To be stunned by her intellect and heart.” —Cheryl Strayed

“Extraordinary...This is a nonfiction literary masterpiece...I can't remember the last time a book affected me as profoundly as Three Women.” —Elizabeth Gilbert

“A revolutionary look at women's desire, this feat of journalism reveals three women who are carnal, brave, and beautifully flawed.” —People (Book of the Week)

A riveting true story about the sex lives of three real American women, based on nearly a decade of reporting.
TitleLady Romeo
AuthorWojczuk, Tana
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader Press
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Women
Category Full 2BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Entertainment & Performing Arts
Category Full 3DRAMA / Shakespeare
ISBN-139781501199523
On Sale07/07/20
Title StatusAS
US Price$27
CDN Price$36
Pages240
Cover StatusFinal
“A lively, illuminating new biography…Wojczuk reveals the force and vitality of this woman, on the stage and off.” —Nina MacLaughlin, The Boston Globe

“Once the empress of the stage, the indomitable 19th-century superstar Charlotte Cushman has been lost to us. Tana Wojczuk resurrects her here, charisma and originality intact. A brisk, beautifully crafted life of a pioneering actor who—on and off the stage—indeed seems to have been, as Wojczuk puts it, ‘a better man than most men.’” —Stacy Schiff, bestselling author of The Witches and Cleopatra

For fans of Book of Ages and American Eve, this illuminating and enthralling biography of 19th-century queer actress Charlotte Cushman portrays her radical lifestyle that riveted New York City and made headlines across America.