July 2020 Indent
Imprint: Avid Reader Press
  Clearclear filter         
TitleLady Romeo
AuthorWojczuk, Tana
FormatHardcover
CategoryS&S BIOGRAPHY
Trim Size21 x 14 cm
ISBN-139781501199523
On Sale Date07/07/20
Aus Price42.99
NZ Price49.99
Pages240
“A lively, illuminating new biography…Wojczuk reveals the force and vitality of this woman, on the stage and off.” —Nina MacLaughlin, The Boston Globe

“Once the empress of the stage, the indomitable 19th-century superstar Charlotte Cushman has been lost to us. Tana Wojczuk resurrects her here, charisma and originality intact. A brisk, beautifully crafted life of a pioneering actor who—on and off the stage—indeed seems to have been, as Wojczuk puts it, ‘a better man than most men.’” —Stacy Schiff, bestselling author of The Witches and Cleopatra

For fans of Book of Ages and American Eve, this illuminating and enthralling biography of 19th-century queer actress Charlotte Cushman portrays her radical lifestyle that riveted New York City and made headlines across America.
TitleProphetic City
AuthorKlineberg, Stephen
FormatHardcover
CategoryS&S BUSINESS
Trim Size23 x 15 cm
ISBN-139781501177910
On Sale Date01/07/20
Aus Price45
NZ Price52.99
Pages336
Sociologist Stephen Klineberg presents fascinating and groundbreaking research that shows how the city of Houston has emerged as a microcosm for America’s future—based on an unprecedented thirty-eight-year study of its changing economic, demographic, and cultural landscapes.