Fall 2020 Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing Catalog
Ages: 10 up
  Clearclear filter         
TitleCharlie Thorne and the Last Equation
AuthorGibbs, Stuart
Illustrator
ImprintS&S Books for Young Readers
SubformatMiddle-Grade Fiction
Category Full 1JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure/General
ISBN-139781534424777
On Sale09/01/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$8.99
CDN Price$11.99
Pages416
Fast-paced, smart, and action-packed...a real page-burner. —Chris Grabenstein, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Mr. Lemoncello’s Library series

From New York Times bestselling author Stuart Gibbs comes the first novel in a thrilling new series about the world’s youngest and smartest genius who’s forced to use her unbelievable code-breaking skills to outsmart Einstein.
TitleTune it Out
AuthorSumner, Jamie
Illustrator
ImprintAtheneum Books for Young Readers
SubformatMiddle-Grade Fiction
Category Full 1JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes/Homelessness & Poverty
ISBN-139781534457003
On Sale09/01/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$17.99
CDN Price$23.99
Pages288
From the author of the acclaimed Roll with It comes a moving novel about a girl with a sensory processing disorder who has to find her own voice after her whole world turns upside down.
TitleRoll with It
AuthorSumner, Jamie
Illustrator
ImprintAtheneum Books for Young Readers
SubformatMiddle-Grade Fiction
Category Full 1JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes/Special Needs
ISBN-139781534442566
On Sale09/01/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$7.99
CDN Price$10.99
Pages272
“A big-hearted story that’s as sweet as it is awesome.” —R.J. Palacio, author of Wonder
“An honest, emotionally rich take on disability, family, and growing up.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

In the tradition of Wonder and Out of My Mind, this big-hearted middle grade debut tells the story of an irrepressible girl with cerebral palsy whose life takes an unexpected turn when she moves to a new town.
TitleThe Green Children of Woolpit
AuthorCoats, J. Anderson
Illustrator
ImprintAtheneum Books for Young Readers
SubformatMiddle-Grade Fiction
Category Full 1JUVENILE FICTION / Historical/Medieval
ISBN-139781534427914
On Sale09/08/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$7.99
CDN Price$10.99
Pages272
Perfect for fans of Doll Bones and Coraline, this eerie, spine-tingling fantasy follows a girl who discovers two otherworldly children and finds herself trapped in an ancient bargain that threatens to destroy them all.
TitleThe Impossible First–Young Readers Edition
AuthorO'Brady, Colin
Illustrator
ImprintS&S Books for Young Readers
SubformatMiddle-Grade Nonfiction
Category Full 1JUVENILE NONFICTION / Biography & Autobiography/Sports & Recreation
ISBN-139781534461987
On Sale09/01/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$17.99
CDN Price$23.99
Pages304
In this Young Readers Edition of Impossible First—perfect for fans of My Shot by Elena Delle Donne and Shaken by Tim Tebow—Colin O’Brady vividly recounts his fifty-four-day, unsupported, record-shattering solo crossing of Antarctica using every ounce of his strength, years of training, and sheer force of will.
TitleConspiracy
AuthorPearson, P. O’Connell
Illustrator
ImprintS&S Books for Young Readers
SubformatMiddle-Grade Nonfiction Illustrated
Category Full 1JUVENILE NONFICTION / Biography & Autobiography/Presidents & First Families (U.S.)
ISBN-139781534480032
On Sale09/29/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$17.99
CDN Price$23.99
Pages288
The story of President Richard Nixon and those who fought against him comes to life in this insightful and accessible nonfiction middle grade book from the author of Fly Girls and Fighting for the Forest.
TitleThe Worlds of Tomie dePaola
AuthorElleman, Barbara
Illustrator
ImprintS&S Books for Young Readers
SubformatIllustrated Nonfiction
Category Full 1JUVENILE NONFICTION / Biography & Autobiography/Art
ISBN-139781534412262
On Sale11/03/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$29.99
CDN Price$40.99
Pages208
Barbara Elleman’s insightful biography on Tomie dePaola captures the essence of the beloved author-illustrator through engaging stories, childhood photos, countless illustrations, and thoughtful analysis of decades of celebrated books.
TitleMake Trouble Young Readers Edition
AuthorRichards, Cecile
Illustrator
ImprintMargaret K. McElderry Books
SubformatMiddle-Grade Nonfiction
Category Full 1JUVENILE NONFICTION / Biography & Autobiography/Women
ISBN-139781534451964
On Sale10/13/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$8.99
CDN Price$11.99
Pages256
From former Planned Parenthood president and activist Cecile Richards comes the young readers edition of her New York Times bestselling memoir, which Hillary Rodham Clinton called an “inspiration for aspiring leaders everywhere.”
TitleFighting for the Forest
AuthorPearson, P. O’Connell
Illustrator
ImprintS&S Books for Young Readers
SubformatMiddle-Grade Nonfiction
Category Full 1JUVENILE NONFICTION / History/Symbols, Monuments, National Parks, etc.
ISBN-139781534429338
On Sale10/06/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$7.99
CDN Price$10.99
Pages224
“Informative, inspiring.” —Kirkus Reviews

In an inspiring middle grade nonfiction work, P. O’Connell Pearson tells the story of the Civilian Conservation Corps—one of Franklin Delano Roosevelt’s New Deal projects that helped save a generation of Americans.