Fall 2020 Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing Catalog
Subformat: Teen Fiction
  Clearclear filter         
TitleThe Black Kids
AuthorHammonds Reed, Christina
Illustrator
ImprintS&S Books for Young Readers
SubformatTeen Fiction
Category Full 1YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age
ISBN-139781534462724
On Sale08/04/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$18.99
CDN Price$24.99
Pages368
“Infused with honesty, heart, and humor, The Black Kids is a true love letter to Los Angeles, highlighting the beauty and flaws of the city, and the people who call it home.” —Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion

Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.
TitleThe Nemesis
AuthorKincaid, S.J.
Illustrator
ImprintS&S Books for Young Readers
SubformatTeen Fiction
Category Full 1YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Action & Adventure/General
ISBN-139781534409958
On Sale08/25/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$19.99
CDN Price$23.99
Pages416
In the heart-pounding conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Diabolic series, the Empire teeters on the edge of destruction as rumors spread that Nemesis is still alive.
TitleLegendborn
AuthorDeonn, Tracy
Illustrator
ImprintMargaret K. McElderry Books
SubformatTeen Fiction
Category Full 1YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy/Contemporary
ISBN-139781534441606
On Sale09/15/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$18.99
CDN Price$24.99
Pages512
Filled with mystery and an intriguingly rich magic system, Tracy Deonn’s YA contemporary fantasy Legendborn offers the dark allure of City of Bones with a modern-day twist on a classic legend and a lot of Southern Black Girl Magic.
TitleLies Like Poison
AuthorPitcher, Chelsea
Illustrator
ImprintMargaret K. McElderry Books
SubformatTeen Fiction
Category Full 1YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Thrillers & Suspense
ISBN-139781534470958
On Sale11/10/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$18.99
CDN Price$25.99
Pages304
Riverdale meets Kara Thomas’s The Cheerleaders in this electrifying, twisted thriller about estranged friends who reunite when someone commits the murder they’d planned—but didn’t go through with—and leaves one of their own to take the fall.
TitleRent a Boyfriend
AuthorChao, Gloria
Illustrator
ImprintS&S Books for Young Readers
SubformatTeen Fiction
Category Full 1YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance/Romantic Comedy
ISBN-139781534462458
On Sale11/10/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$18.99
CDN Price$25.99
Pages400
To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before meets The Farewell in this incisive romantic comedy about a college student who hires a fake boyfriend to appease her traditional Taiwanese parents, to disastrous results, from the acclaimed author of American Panda.
TitleOur Wayward Fate
AuthorChao, Gloria
Illustrator
ImprintS&S Books for Young Readers
SubformatTeen Fiction
Category Full 1YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance/Contemporary
ISBN-139781534427624
On Sale09/01/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$11.99
CDN Price$15.99
Pages336
“A story that’s sure to stick with you for a long time.” —BuzzFeed
“More than a coming-of-age novel.” —School Library Journal
“[An] inventive, deeply heartfelt love story that explores connections of many kinds.” —Booklist

A teen outcast is simultaneously swept up in a whirlwind romance and down a rabbit hole of dark family secrets when another Taiwanese family moves to her small, predominantly white midwestern town in this remarkable novel from the critically acclaimed author of American Panda.
TitleDaughters of Jubilation
AuthorCorthron, Kara Lee
Illustrator
ImprintS&S Books for Young Readers
SubformatTeen Fiction
Category Full 1YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance/Historical
ISBN-139781481459501
On Sale10/13/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$18.99
CDN Price$25.99
Pages352
From the award-winning author of The Truth of Right Now comes a stunning, grounded fantasy in the vein of Dread Nation that follows a black teen as she finds her place among a family of women gifted with magical abilities.
TitleRecommended for You
AuthorSilverman, Laura
Illustrator
ImprintMargaret K. McElderry Books
SubformatTeen Fiction
Category Full 1YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance/Contemporary
ISBN-139781534474192
On Sale09/01/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$17.99
CDN Price$23.99
Pages272
To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before meets You’ve Got Mail in this charming and hilarious rom-com following two teen booksellers whose rivalry is taken to the next level as they compete for the top bookseller bonus.
TitleThese Violent Delights
AuthorGong, Chloe
Illustrator
ImprintMargaret K. McElderry Books
SubformatTeen Fiction
Category Full 1YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy/Historical
ISBN-139781534457690
On Sale11/17/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$19.99
CDN Price$26.99
Pages464
Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River.
TitleNight Shine
AuthorGratton, Tessa
Illustrator
ImprintMargaret K. McElderry Books
SubformatTeen Fiction
Category Full 1YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy/Dark Fantasy
ISBN-139781534460775
On Sale09/08/20
Title StatusNYP
US Price$19.99
CDN Price$26.99
Pages400
An orphan girl must face untold danger and an ancient evil to save her kingdom’s prince in this lush, romantic fantasy perfect for fans of Girls of Paper and Fire and Tess of the Road.