Spring 2021 Avid Reader Press Catalog
TitleMe to We
AuthorKielburger, Craig
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader Press
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1SELF-HELP / Personal Growth/General
Category Full 2SELF-HELP / Motivational & Inspirational
Category Full 3SOCIAL SCIENCE / Volunteer Work
ISBN-139781982154578
On Sale01/05/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$16.99
CDN Price
Pages288
Cover StatusFinal
The New York Times bestseller from the founders of WE Charity—a human rights organization that has lifted over 1 million people from poverty globally—Me to We is an uplifting and actionable guide for personal and social change and a call to action to helping others, featuring a new introduction by Academy Award­–winning actress and activist Natalie Portman.
TitleThe Changing World Order
AuthorDalio, Ray
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader Press
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / International/Economics
Category Full 2BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / Economics/Macroeconomics
Category Full 3HISTORY / Modern/21st Century
ISBN-139781982160272
On Sale01/12/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$30
CDN Price$39.99
Pages336
Cover StatusReady to Feed
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Principles and legendary investor Ray Dalio, who has spent half a century studying global markets, The Changing World Order examines history’s most turbulent economic and political periods to reveal why the times ahead will likely be radically different from those we’ve experienced in our lifetimes.
TitleFight of the Century
Author
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader press
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1LITERARY COLLECTIONS / Essays
Category Full 2POLITICAL SCIENCE / Civil Rights
Category Full 3HISTORY / United States/General
ISBN-139781501190414
On Sale01/19/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages336
Cover StatusReady to Feed
The American Civil Liberties Union partners with award-winning authors Michael Chabon and Ayelet Waldman in this “forceful, beautifully written” (Associated Press) collection that brings together many of our greatest living writers, each contributing an original piece inspired by a historic ACLU case.
TitleSAM
AuthorWaldman, Jonathan
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader press
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1TECHNOLOGY / Robotics
Category Full 2TECHNOLOGY / Construction/Masonry
Category Full 3BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / Entrepreneurship
ISBN-139781501140600
On Sale01/26/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages288
Cover StatusReady to Feed
A true story of innovation that “reads like a movie” (Seth Godin), centered on a scrappy team of engineers—far from the Silicon Valley limelight—and their quest to revolutionize the traditional trade of masonry by building a robot that can lay bricks.
TitleWe Need to Hang Out
AuthorBaker, Billy
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader press
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FAMILY & RELATIONSHIPS / Friendship
Category Full 2HUMOR / Topic/Men, Women & Relationships
Category Full 3PSYCHOLOGY / Interpersonal Relations
ISBN-139781982111083
On Sale01/26/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$27
CDN Price$36
Pages224
Cover StatusReady to Feed
What if Bill Bryson wrote a Malcolm Gladwell book, one that took the science of loneliness and used it as the travel guide for an epic comic adventure through friendship? Billy Baker’s We Need to Hang Out is the story of a middle-aged everyman who realizes that he doesn’t have any close friends, inspiring him to set out on a humorous and ultimately moving quest to revive old tribes and build new ones, all with the goal of having someone to hang out with on Wednesday nights.
TitleTrade Is Not a Four-Letter Word
AuthorHochberg, Fred P.
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader press
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1POLITICAL SCIENCE / International Relations/Trade & Tariffs
Category Full 2BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / Globalization
Category Full 3BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / Commerce
ISBN-139781982127374
On Sale01/26/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages336
Cover StatusReady to Feed
“A sprightly and clear-eyed testimonial to the value of globalization” (The Wall Street Journal) as seen through six surprising everyday goods—the taco salad, the Honda Odyssey, the banana, the iPhone, the college degree, and the blockbuster HBO series Game of Thrones.
TitleWhy We're Polarized
AuthorKlein, Ezra
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader press
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1POLITICAL SCIENCE / Political Ideologies/Conservatism & Liberalism
Category Full 2POLITICAL SCIENCE / American Government/National
Category Full 3HISTORY / United States/21st Century
ISBN-139781476700366
On Sale02/02/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages336
Cover StatusReady to Feed
This New York Times and Wall Street Journal bestseller shows us that America’s political system isn’t broken. The truth is scarier: it’s working exactly as designed. In this “superbly researched” (The Washington Post) and timely book, journalist Ezra Klein reveals how that system is polarizing us—and how we are polarizing it—with disastrous results.
TitleAuthor in Chief
AuthorFehrman, Craig
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader press
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1POLITICAL SCIENCE / American Government/Executive Branch
Category Full 2HISTORY / United States/General
Category Full 3BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Presidents & Heads of State
ISBN-139781476786582
On Sale02/16/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$18
CDN Price$25
Pages448
Cover StatusReady to Feed
“One of the best books on the American presidency to appear in recent years” (The Wall Street Journal) and based on a decade of research and reporting—a delightful new window into the public and private lives America’s presidents as authors.
TitleHot Seat
AuthorImmelt, Jeff
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader press
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / Leadership
Category Full 2BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Business
Category Full 3BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / Corporate & Business History
ISBN-139781982114718
On Sale02/23/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$30
CDN Price$39.99
Pages336
Cover StatusReady to Feed
A memoir of successful leadership in times of crisis: the former CEO of General Electric, named one of the “World’s Best CEOs” three times by Barron’s, shares the hard-won lessons he learned from his experience leading GE immediately after 9/11, through the economic devastation of the 2008–09 financial crisis, and into an increasingly globalized world.
TitleInfinite Country
AuthorEngel, Patricia
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader Press
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / Literary
Category Full 2FICTION / Family Life/Marriage & Divorce
Category Full 3FICTION / Hispanic & Latino
ISBN-139781982159467
On Sale02/23/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$26
CDN Price$35
Pages208
Cover StatusReady to Feed
For readers of Valeria Luiselli and Edwidge Danticat, an urgent and lyrical novel about a Colombian family fractured by deportation, offering an intimate perspective on an experience that so many have endured—and are enduring right now.