Summer 2021 Simon & Schuster Adult Publishing Catalog
Imprint: Avid Reader Press
  Clearclear filter         
TitleAnimal
AuthorTaddeo, Lisa
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader press
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / Literary
Category Full 2FICTION / Women
Category Full 3FICTION / Feminist
ISBN-139781982122126
On Sale06/08/21
Title StatusBSB
US Price$27.99
CDN Price$36.99
Pages336
Cover StatusFinal
From Lisa Taddeo, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller and global phenomenon Three Women, comes an “intoxicating” (Entertainment Weekly), “gripping” (New York), “explosive” (People), and “ferociously beautiful” (Library Journal) debut novel.

“With skill and insight, Taddeo examines how the savagery of men fuels female rage. The result is as intimate as it is explosive.” —People (Book of the Week)

“[A] propulsive, fiercely confident debut novel…Joan’s voice is so sharp and magnetic that the reader will follow her anywhere…Taddeo’s prose glitters. She has a gift for aphorism, the observation that astonishes.” —The New York Times Book Review
TitleThree Women
AuthorTaddeo, Lisa
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader press
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1HISTORY / Social History
Category Full 2SOCIAL SCIENCE / Human Sexuality
Category Full 3SOCIAL SCIENCE / Women's Studies
ISBN-139781451642308
On Sale07/07/20
Title StatusAS
US Price$17
CDN Price$19.99
Pages336
Cover StatusFinal
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * #1 SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER * #1 INDIE NEXT PICK

Named a Best Book of the Year: The Washington Post * NPR * The Atlantic * New York Public Library * Vanity Fair * PBS * Time * Economist * Entertainment Weekly * Financial Times * Shelf Awareness * Guardian * Sunday Times * BBC * Esquire * Good Housekeeping * Elle * Real Simple * And more than twenty additional outlets

“Staggeringly intimate...Taddeo spent eight years reporting this groundbreaking book.” —Entertainment Weekly

“A breathtaking and important book…What a fine thing it is to be enthralled by another writer’s sentences. To be stunned by her intellect and heart.” —Cheryl Strayed

“Extraordinary...This is a nonfiction literary masterpiece...I can't remember the last time a book affected me as profoundly as Three Women.” —Elizabeth Gilbert

“A revolutionary look at women's desire, this feat of journalism reveals three women who are carnal, brave, and beautifully flawed.” —People (Book of the Week)

A riveting true story about the sex lives of three real American women, based on nearly a decade of reporting.
TitleGroup
AuthorTate, Christie
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader Press
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
Category Full 2PSYCHOLOGY / Interpersonal Relations
Category Full 3FAMILY & RELATIONSHIPS / Love & Romance
ISBN-139781982154622
On Sale06/01/21
Title StatusAS
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages304
Cover StatusFinal
A REESE’S BOOK CLUB PICK * NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

The refreshingly original and “startlingly hopeful” (Lisa Taddeo) debut memoir of an over-achieving young lawyer who reluctantly agrees to group therapy and gets psychologically and emotionally naked in a room of six complete strangers—and finds human connection, and herself.
TitleFalling
AuthorNewman, T. J.
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader Press
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / Thrillers/Suspense
Category Full 2FICTION / Thrillers/Psychological
Category Full 3FICTION / Thrillers/Terrorism
ISBN-139781982177881
On Sale07/06/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$28
CDN Price$32.95
Pages304
Cover StatusFinal
“Stunning and relentless. This is Jaws at 35,000 feet.” —Don Winslow
Falling is the best kind of thriller…Nonstop, totally authentic suspense.” —James Patterson
“Amazing...Intense suspense, shocks and scares...Chilling.” —Lee Child
“The perfect summer thriller. Relentlessly paced and unforgettable.” —Janet Evanovich
TitleDedicated
AuthorDavis, Pete
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader Press
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1SELF-HELP / Personal Growth/Happiness
Category Full 2PHILOSOPHY / Social
Category Full 3PSYCHOLOGY / Social Psychology
ISBN-139781982140908
On Sale05/04/21
Title StatusAS
US Price$27
CDN Price$36
Pages272
Cover StatusFinal
A profoundly inspiring and transformative argument that purposeful commitment can be a powerful force in our age of restlessness and indecision.
TitleOut on a Limb
AuthorSullivan, Andrew
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader press
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1LITERARY COLLECTIONS / Essays
Category Full 2LITERARY COLLECTIONS / LGBTQ+
Category Full 3RELIGION / Religion, Politics & State
ISBN-139781501155895
On Sale08/10/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$35
CDN Price$47
Pages576
Cover StatusFinal
Andrew Sullivan—youngest ever editor of The New Republic, founding editor of The Daily Dish, hailed as “one of the most influential journalists of the last three decades” by The New York Times—presents a collection of his most iconic and powerful essays of social and political commentary from The New Republic, The Atlantic, The New York Times Magazine, New York magazine, and more.
TitleFrom the River to the Sea
AuthorSedgwick, John
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader press
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1HISTORY / United States/19th Century
Category Full 2TRANSPORTATION / Railroads/History
Category Full 3TECHNOLOGY / History
ISBN-139781982104283
On Sale06/01/21
Title StatusAS
US Price$30
CDN Price$39.99
Pages352
Cover StatusFinal
A sweeping and lively history of one of the most dramatic stories never told—of the greatest railroad war of all time, fought by the daring leaders of the Santa Fe and the Rio Grande to seize, control, and create the American West.
TitleA Course Called America
AuthorCoyne, Tom
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader press
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1SPORTS & RECREATION / Golf
Category Full 2TRAVEL / United States/General
Category Full 3BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Sports
ISBN-139781982128050
On Sale05/25/21
Title StatusBSB
US Price$28.99
CDN Price$38.99
Pages416
Cover StatusFinal
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Globe-trotting golfer Tom Coyne has finally come home. And he’s ready to play all of it.

After playing hundreds of courses overseas in the birthplace of golf, ​Coyne, the author of A Course Called Ireland and A Course Called Scotland, returns to his own birthplace and delivers a rollicking love letter to golf in the United States.
TitleThe Deadline Effect
AuthorCox, Christopher
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader Press
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / Skills
Category Full 2PSYCHOLOGY / Social Psychology
Category Full 3PSYCHOLOGY / Industrial & Organizational Psychology
ISBN-139781982132279
On Sale07/06/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$28
CDN Price$37
Pages240
Cover StatusFinal
In the tradition of Charles Duhigg’s The Power of Habit, Christopher Cox’s The Deadline Effect is a wise and counterintuitive book that explores the power of deadlines as uniquely effective tools of motivation and empowerment.
TitleAnthro-Vision
AuthorTett, Gillian
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader Press
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / Management
Category Full 2BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / Organizational Behavior
Category Full 3SOCIAL SCIENCE / Anthropology/General
ISBN-139781982140960
On Sale06/08/21
Title StatusBSB
US Price$30
CDN Price$39.99
Pages304
Cover StatusFinal
In an age when the business world is dominated by technology and data analysis, award-winning financial journalist and anthropology PhD Gillian Tett presents a radically different strategy for success: businesses can revolutionize their understanding of behavior by studying consumers, markets, and organizations through an anthropological lens.