Summer 2021 Avid Reader Press Catalog
Pub Month: June 2021
  Clearclear filter         
TitleProphetic City
AuthorKlineberg, Stephen
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader press
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / Development/Economic Development
Category Full 2SOCIAL SCIENCE / Sociology/Urban
Category Full 3HISTORY / United States/State & Local/Southwest
ISBN-139781501177934
On Sale06/01/21
Title StatusAS
US Price$18
CDN Price$25
Pages336
Cover StatusFinal
Sociologist Stephen Klineberg presents “a trailblazing study” (Kirkus Reviews) that shows how the city of Houston has emerged as a microcosm for America’s future—based on a meticulously researched, thirty-eight-year study of its changing economic, demographic, and cultural landscapes.
TitleFrom the River to the Sea
AuthorSedgwick, John
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader press
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1HISTORY / United States/19th Century
Category Full 2TRANSPORTATION / Railroads/History
Category Full 3TECHNOLOGY / History
ISBN-139781982104283
On Sale06/01/21
Title StatusAS
US Price$30
CDN Price$39.99
Pages352
Cover StatusFinal
A sweeping and lively history of one of the most dramatic stories never told—of the greatest railroad war of all time, fought by the daring leaders of the Santa Fe and the Rio Grande to seize, control, and create the American West.
TitleGroup
AuthorTate, Christie
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader Press
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
Category Full 2PSYCHOLOGY / Interpersonal Relations
Category Full 3FAMILY & RELATIONSHIPS / Love & Romance
ISBN-139781982154622
On Sale06/01/21
Title StatusBO
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages304
Cover StatusFinal
A REESE’S BOOK CLUB PICK * NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

The refreshingly original and “startlingly hopeful” (Lisa Taddeo) debut memoir of an over-achieving young lawyer who reluctantly agrees to group therapy and gets psychologically and emotionally naked in a room of six complete strangers—and finds human connection, and herself.
TitleLady Romeo
AuthorWojczuk, Tana
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader Press
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Women
Category Full 2BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Entertainment & Performing Arts
Category Full 3DRAMA / Shakespeare
ISBN-139781501199530
On Sale06/08/21
Title StatusAS
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages240
Cover StatusFinal
Finalist for a Lambda Literary Award
Finalist for the Publishing Triangle’s Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction
Finalist for the Marfield Prize

For fans of Book of Ages and American Eve, this “lively, illuminating new biography” (The Boston Globe) of 19th-century queer actress Charlotte Cushman portrays a “brisk, beautifully crafted life” (Stacy Schiff, bestselling author of The Witches and Cleopatra) that riveted New York City and made headlines across America.
TitleAnimal
AuthorTaddeo, Lisa
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader press
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / Literary
Category Full 2FICTION / Women
Category Full 3FICTION / Feminist
ISBN-139781982122126
On Sale06/08/21
Title StatusAS
US Price$27.99
CDN Price$36.99
Pages336
Cover StatusFinal
NATIONAL BESTSELLER

From Lisa Taddeo, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller and global phenomenon Three Women, comes an “intoxicating” (Entertainment Weekly), “gripping” (New York), “explosive” (People), and “ferociously beautiful” (Library Journal) debut novel.

“With skill and insight, Taddeo examines how the savagery of men fuels female rage. The result is as intimate as it is explosive.” —People (Book of the Week)

“[A] propulsive, fiercely confident debut novel…Joan’s voice is so sharp and magnetic that the reader will follow her anywhere…Taddeo’s prose glitters. She has a gift for aphorism, the observation that astonishes.” —The New York Times Book Review
TitleFilthy Beasts
AuthorHamill, Kirkland
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader press
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs
Category Full 2PSYCHOLOGY / Psychopathology/Addiction
Category Full 3BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Rich & Famous
ISBN-139781982122775
On Sale06/08/21
Title StatusAS
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages336
Cover StatusFinal
Running with Scissors meets Grey Gardens in this “vivid tragicomedy” (People), a riveting riches-to-rags tale of a wealthy family who lost it all and the unforgettable journey of a man coming to terms with his family’s deep flaws and his own hidden secrets.
TitleAnthro-Vision
AuthorTett, Gillian
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader Press
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / Management
Category Full 2BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / Organizational Behavior
Category Full 3SOCIAL SCIENCE / Anthropology/General
ISBN-139781982140960
On Sale06/08/21
Title StatusAS
US Price$30
CDN Price$39.99
Pages304
Cover StatusFinal
In an age when the business world is dominated by technology and data analysis, award-winning financial journalist and anthropology PhD Gillian Tett presents a radically different strategy for success: businesses can revolutionize their understanding of behavior by studying consumers, markets, and organizations through an anthropological lens.
TitleWhy We're Polarized
AuthorKlein, Ezra
Sub-ImprintAvid Reader press
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1POLITICAL SCIENCE / Political Ideologies/Conservatism & Liberalism
Category Full 2POLITICAL SCIENCE / American Government/National
Category Full 3HISTORY / United States/21st Century
ISBN-139781476700366
On Sale06/15/21
Title StatusAS
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages352
Cover StatusFinal
This New York Times and Wall Street Journal bestseller shows us that America’s political system isn’t broken. The truth is scarier: it’s working exactly as designed. In this “superbly researched” (The Washington Post) and timely book, journalist Ezra Klein reveals how that system is polarizing us—and how we are polarizing it—with disastrous results.