Summer 2021 Scribner Catalog
Title Status: NYP
  Clearclear filter         
TitleAn Elegant Woman
AuthorMcPhee, Martha
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1FICTION / Literary
Category Full 2FICTION / Women
Category Full 3FICTION / Historical/General
ISBN-139781501179587
On Sale06/15/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages416
Cover StatusFinal
“A portrait of self-creation in the vein of F. Scott Fitzgerald”,” (The Wall Street Journal) An Elegant Woman is “a rich exploration of legacy and memory” (Entertainment Weekly) that follows four generations of women against the sweep of 20th century American history.
TitleSeeing Serena
AuthorMarzorati, Gerald
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Sports
Category Full 2SPORTS & RECREATION / Racket Sports/Tennis
Category Full 3BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Women
ISBN-139781982127886
On Sale06/15/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$26
CDN Price$35
Pages272
Cover StatusFinal
A riveting chronicle of trailblazing tennis champion and cultural icon Serena Williams’s turbulent 2019 tour season and a revealing portrait of who she is, both on and off the court.
TitleBear Necessity
AuthorGould-Bourn, James
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1FICTION / Family Life/General
Category Full 2FICTION / Humorous/General
Category Full 3FICTION / Friendship
ISBN-139781982128302
On Sale06/15/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$16
CDN Price$22
Pages320
Cover StatusFinal
A “refreshing,” (Kirkus Reviews) unpretentious, and uplifting story about a father and son reconnecting and finding happiness in the most unlikely circumstances—for fans of Nick Hornby and The Rosie Project.
TitleCenterStage
AuthorKay, Michael
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Sports
Category Full 2BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Entertainment & Performing Arts
Category Full 3SPORTS & RECREATION / Baseball/Essays & Writings
ISBN-139781982152031
On Sale06/15/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$28
CDN Price$37
Pages384
Cover StatusFinal
From the longtime host of the New York Yankees’ television broadcasts, ESPN Radio’s The Michael Kay Show, and YES Network’s Emmy Award–winning CenterStage comes a selection of his most memorable interviews with the most intriguing personalities in sports and entertainment—ranging from Jay-Z to Mike Tyson to Serena Williams to Adam Sandler to Bon Jovi to Larry David.
TitleThe World's Fastest Man
AuthorKranish, Michael
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1HISTORY / African American & Black
Category Full 2SPORTS & RECREATION / Cycling
Category Full 3HISTORY / United States/20th Century
ISBN-139781501192609
On Sale06/29/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$19
CDN Price$26
Pages384
Cover StatusFinal
In this “sharp-eyed account of a nearly forgotten African-American sports legend” (Publishers Weekly)—the remarkable Major Taylor who became the world’s fastest bicyclist at the height of the Jim Crow era—“Kranish has done historians and fans a service by reminding us that such immortals as Joe Louis, Jesse Owens, Serena Williams and Tiger Woods all followed in Major Taylor’s wake” (The Washington Post).
TitleWhen She Was Good
AuthorRobotham, Michael
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1FICTION / Thrillers/Suspense
Category Full 2FICTION / Thrillers/General
Category Full 3FICTION / Women
ISBN-139781982103644
On Sale06/29/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$17
CDN Price
Pages368
Cover StatusFinal
From the bestselling author of The Secrets She Keeps and Good Girl, Bad Girl comes a “gripping…urgent, poignant, and terrifying thriller” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) featuring the brilliant forensic psychologist Cyrus Haven as he becomes embroiled in an explosive murder case with disturbing origins.
TitleThe Institute
AuthorKing, Stephen
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatMass Market Paperbound
Category Full 1FICTION / Thrillers/Suspense
Category Full 2FICTION / Science Fiction/Genetic Engineering
Category Full 3FICTION / Thrillers/Supernatural
ISBN-139781982110574
On Sale06/29/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$10.99
CDN Price$14.99
Pages672
Cover StatusFinal
From #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephen King whose “storytelling transcends genre” (Newsday) comes “another winner: creepy and touching and horrifyingly believable” (The Boston Globe) about a group of kids confronting evil.
TitleHeatwave
AuthorJestin, Victor
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / Coming of Age
Category Full 2FICTION / Psychological
Category Full 3FICTION / Literary
ISBN-139781982143480
On Sale06/29/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$22
CDN Price$30
Pages112
Cover StatusFinal
A vivid, mesmerizing novel about a teenage boy on vacation who makes an irrevocable mistake and becomes trapped in a spiral of guilt and desire—in the tradition of Alice McDermotts That Night and E. Lockharts We Were Liars.
TitleStranger in the Shogun's City
AuthorStanley, Amy
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1HISTORY / Asia/Japan
Category Full 2HISTORY / Modern/19th Century
Category Full 3HISTORY / Women
ISBN-139781501188534
On Sale07/06/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$18
CDN Price$25
Pages352
Cover StatusFinal
*Winner of the 2020 National Book Critics Circle Award*
*Winner of the PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography*

A “captivating” (The Washington Post) work of history that explores the life of an unconventional woman during the first half of the 19th century in Edo—the city that would become Tokyo—and a portrait of a city on the brink of a momentous encounter with the West.
TitleOut of Darkness, Shining Light
AuthorGappah, Petina
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1FICTION / African American & Black/Historical
Category Full 2FICTION / Historical/General
Category Full 3FICTION / Friendship
ISBN-139781982110345
On Sale07/06/21
Title StatusNYP
US Price$17
CDN Price$23
Pages320
Cover StatusFinal
“Engrossing, beautiful, and deeply imaginative” (Yaa Gyasi, author of Homegoing), this epic novel about the explorer David Livingstone and the extraordinary group of Africans who carry his body across impossible terrain “illuminates the agonies of colonialism and blind loyalty” (O, The Oprah Magazine).