Summer 2023 Scribner Catalog
TitleHis Majesty's Airship
AuthorGwynne, S. C.
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1HISTORY / Modern/20th Century/General
Category Full 2HISTORY / Europe/Great Britain/20th Century
Category Full 3TRANSPORTATION / Aviation/History
ISBN-139781982168278
On Sale05/02/23
Title StatusNYP
US Price$32
CDN Price$43
Pages320
Cover StatusReady to Feed
From the bestselling author of the Pulitzer Prize finalist Empire of the Summer Moon comes a stunning historical tale of the rise and fall of the world’s largest airship—and the doomed love story between an ambitious British officer and a married Romanian Princess at its heart.
TitleThe Half Moon
AuthorKeane, Mary Beth
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / Literary
Category Full 2FICTION / Family Life/General
Category Full 3FICTION / Coming of Age
ISBN-139781982172602
On Sale05/02/23
Title StatusNYP
US Price$28
CDN Price$34.99
Pages304
Cover StatusFinal
From the bestselling author of Ask Again, Yes, a masterful novel about a couple in a small town who must navigate the complexities of marriage, family, and longing.
TitleThe East Indian
AuthorCharry, Brinda
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1FICTION / Historical/Colonial America & Revolution
Category Full 2FICTION / Biographical
Category Full 3FICTION / Asian American
ISBN-139781668004524
On Sale05/02/23
Title StatusNYP
US Price$28
CDN Price$37
Pages272
Cover StatusReady to Feed
Inspired by a historical figure, an exhilarating debut novel about the first native of the Indian subcontinent to arrive in Colonial America—for readers of Esi Edugyan and Yaa Gyasi.
TitleDear Chrysanthemums
AuthorSze-Lorrain, Fiona
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1FICTION / Asian American
Category Full 2FICTION / Literary
Category Full 3FICTION / Short Stories
ISBN-139781668012987
On Sale05/02/23
Title StatusNYP
US Price$18
CDN Price$25
Pages176
Cover StatusReady to Feed
A startling and vivid debut novel in stories from acclaimed poet and translator Fiona Sze-Lorrain, featuring deeply compelling Asian women who reckon with the past, violence, and exile—set in Shanghai, Beijing, Singapore, Paris, and New York.
TitleThe Lost Sons of Omaha
AuthorSexton, Joe
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1SOCIAL SCIENCE / Activism & Social Justice
Category Full 2BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Cultural, Ethnic & Regional/General
Category Full 3POLITICAL SCIENCE / Civil Rights
ISBN-139781982198343
On Sale05/09/23
Title StatusNYP
US Price$30
CDN Price$39.99
Pages384
Cover StatusReady to Feed
From the award–winning journalist behind the powerful Netflix true-crime series Unbelievable, a searing, no-holds-barred account of two linked and tragic deaths stemming from the 2020 George Floyd protests that explores the complex political and racial mistrust and division of today’s America.
TitleThe Gotti Wars
AuthorGleeson, John
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1TRUE CRIME / Organized Crime
Category Full 2HISTORY / United States/20th Century
Category Full 3HISTORY / United States/State & Local/Middle Atlantic
ISBN-139781982186937
On Sale05/09/23
Title StatusNYP
US Price$18
CDN Price$25
Pages368
Cover StatusReady to Feed
“Riveting…an electrifying true crime story of the Mafia-smitten eighties and nineties. Suspenseful and multifaceted, The Gotti Wars can’t be missed.” —Esquire, The Best Nonfiction Books of the Year

A “meticulous chronicle of good triumphing over evil” (The Washington Post) from the determined young prosecutor who, in two of America’s most celebrated trials, managed to convict famed mob boss John Gotti—and ultimately took down the Mafia altogether.
TitleFortune's Bazaar
AuthorEngland, Vaudine
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1HISTORY / Asia/China
Category Full 2HISTORY / Europe/Great Britain/General
Category Full 3HISTORY / Social History
ISBN-139781982184513
On Sale05/16/23
Title StatusNYP
US Price$35
CDN Price$47
Pages368
Cover StatusReady to Feed
A timely, well-researched, and vibrant new history of Hong Kong that reveals the untold stories of the diverse peoples who have made it a multicultural world metropolis—and whose freedoms are endangered today.
TitleThe First Populist
AuthorBrown, David S.
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatPaperback
Category Full 1BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Presidents & Heads of State
Category Full 2HISTORY / United States/19th Century
Category Full 3BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Historical
ISBN-139781982191108
On Sale05/16/23
Title StatusNYP
US Price$18.99
CDN Price$25.99
Pages432
Cover StatusReady to Feed
A timely, “solidly researched [and] gracefully written” (The Wall Street Journal) biography of President Andrew Jackson that offers a fresh reexamination of this charismatic figure in the context of American populism—connecting the complex man and the politician to a longer history of division, dissent, and partisanship that has come to define our current times.
TitleAmerican Childhood
AuthorBrewster, Todd
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1PHOTOGRAPHY / Subjects & Themes/Children
Category Full 2HISTORY / United States/General
Category Full 3SOCIAL SCIENCE / Children's Studies
ISBN-139781501124884
On Sale05/23/23
Title StatusNYP
US Price$36
CDN Price$49
Pages320
Cover StatusFinal
A remarkable collection of over 200 stunning photographs of children—from the Civil War era to the present—that captures the ever-changing experience of childhood throughout American history.
TitleV Is For Victory
AuthorNelson, Craig
Sub-ImprintScribner
FormatHardcover
Category Full 1HISTORY / United States/20th Century
Category Full 2HISTORY / Wars & Conflicts/World War II/General
Category Full 3BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Presidents & Heads of State
ISBN-139781982122911
On Sale05/23/23
Title StatusNYP
US Price$28
CDN Price$37
Pages448
Cover StatusReady to Feed
New York Times bestselling historian Craig Nelson reveals how FDR confronted an American public disinterested in going to war in Europe, skillfully won their support, and pushed government and American industry to build the greatest war machine in history, “the arsenal of democracy” that won World War II.