23-24 Kaleidoscope Program
TitleRemembering
AuthorGonzález, Xelena
IllustratorGarcia, Adriana M.
ImprintS&S Books for Young Readers
SubformatPicture Book
Category Full 1JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes/Death, Grief, Bereavement
Category Full 2JUVENILE FICTION / Animals/Pets
ISBN-139781534499638
On Sale08/29/23
Title StatusBSB
US Price$18.99
CDN Price$23.99
Pages40
Three starred reviews!
A Pura Belpré Illustrator Honor Book
A Chicago Public Library Best Book

A family remembers their beloved pet dog through the traditions of Día de Muertos in this “gorgeous, deeply touching exploration of grief and remembrance” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) from Pura Belpré Honor–winning team Xelena González and Adriana M. Garcia.
TitleNinja Nate
AuthorSheppard, Markette
IllustratorPaul Jr., Robert
ImprintS&S Books for Young Readers
SubformatPicture Book
Category Full 1JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places/United States/African American & Black
Category Full 2JUVENILE FICTION / Imagination & Play
ISBN-139781534476929
On Sale09/26/23
Title StatusAS
US Price$18.99
CDN Price$22.99
Pages32
A boy adopting a ninja alter ego to cope with a new disability finds the courage to share all of himself in this action-packed and heartfelt picture book from the author of My Rainy Day Rocket Ship.
TitleBhangra Baby
AuthorSehgal, Kabir
IllustratorBushry, Ani
ImprintBeach Lane Books
SubformatPicture Book
Category Full 1JUVENILE FICTION / Performing Arts/Dance
Category Full 2JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places/Asia
ISBN-139781665936156
On Sale10/03/23
Title StatusAS
US Price$18.99
CDN Price$22.99
Pages32
Come dance with Bhangra Baby as he learns to move to the rhythm of a popular Punjabi folk dance in this infectiously exuberant picture book from bestselling mother-son duo Surishtha Sehgal and Kabir Sehgal!
TitleThere Was a Party for Langston
AuthorReynolds, Jason
IllustratorPumphrey, Jarrett
ImprintAtheneum Books for Young Readers
SubformatPicture Book
Category Full 1JUVENILE FICTION / Imagination & Play
Category Full 2JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places/United States/African American & Black
ISBN-139781534439443
On Sale10/03/23
Title StatusBSB
US Price$18.99
CDN Price$23.99
Pages56
A Caldecott Honor Book
A Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Book

New York Times bestselling and award-winning author Jason Reynolds’s debut picture book is a snappy, joyous ode to Word King, literary genius, and glass-ceiling smasher Langston Hughes and the luminaries he inspired.
TitleToo Much
AuthorGoodluck, Laurel
IllustratorGeorge, Bridget
ImprintS&S Books for Young Readers
SubformatPicture Book
Category Full 1JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places/United States/Native American
Category Full 2JUVENILE FICTION / Family/Multigenerational
ISBN-139781665911269
On Sale01/23/24
Title StatusAS
US Price$18.99
CDN Price$23.99
Pages40
A little boy wants a chance to shine on his own but discovers that being apart from his large and lively Native family isn’t necessarily better in this heartwarming and humorous picture book.
TitleWhere Is Poppy?
AuthorPritchard, Caroline Kusin
IllustratorWulfekotte, Dana
ImprintS&S Books for Young Readers
SubformatPicture Book
Category Full 1JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes/Death, Grief, Bereavement
Category Full 2JUVENILE FICTION / Religious/Jewish
ISBN-139781534489196
On Sale02/13/24
Title StatusAS
US Price$18.99
CDN Price$23.99
Pages40
In this heartwarming Passover story, a young Jewish child learns to work through grief with the help of family, memory, and tradition.
TitleTricky Chopsticks
AuthorChen, Sylvia
IllustratorLiem, Fanny
ImprintAtheneum Books for Young Readers
SubformatPicture Book
Category Full 1JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places/United States/Asian American & Pacific Islander
Category Full 2JUVENILE FICTION / Humorous Stories
ISBN-139781665921497
On Sale03/19/24
Title StatusNYP
US Price$18.99
CDN Price$23.99
Pages40
A young Chinese American girl uses creative STEAM-powered problem-solving to master chopsticks so she can pick up her dumplings and eat them, too, in this charming and laugh-out-loud picture book perfect for fans of the Amy Wu series.
TitleThe Heart Never Forgets
AuthorOt, Ana
IllustratorGoodman, Hayden
ImprintAtheneum Books for Young Readers
SubformatPicture Book
Category Full 1JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places/Africa
Category Full 2JUVENILE FICTION / Family/Multigenerational
ISBN-139781665913058
On Sale04/16/24
Title StatusNYP
US Price$18.99
CDN Price$23.99
Pages40
A young girl pays tribute to the memory of her grandfather during a West African masquerade festival in this moving, lushly illustrated picture book.
TitleNoor Needs to Know!
AuthorIslam, Farhana
IllustratorAdani, Nabila
ImprintS&S Books for Young Readers
SubformatPicture Book
Category Full 1JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places/United States/Asian American & Pacific Islander
Category Full 2JUVENILE FICTION / Religious/Muslim
ISBN-139781665957854
On Sale05/21/24
Title StatusNYP
US Price$18.99
CDN Price$24.99
Pages32
A precocious girl makes it her mission to find out why the women in her family wear hijabs in this heartwarming yet funny picture book celebrating Muslim women, curious children, and family love.
TitleThe Gale
AuthorMo, Yan
IllustratorZhu, Chengliang
ImprintS&S Books for Young Readers
SubformatPicture Book
Category Full 1JUVENILE FICTION / Boys & Men
Category Full 2JUVENILE FICTION / Family/Multigenerational
ISBN-139781665930628
On Sale08/06/24
Title StatusNYP
US Price$18.99
CDN Price$24.99
Pages40
This contemplative, semiautobiographical picture book by Nobel Laureate Mo Yan, with illustrations by Hans Christian Anderson Award nominee Zhu Chengliang, is perfect for readers of A Different Pond and Watercress.